controlling traktor with touchscreen phones
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    296

    Default controlling traktor with touchscreen phones

    is that possible? or only with the iphone?

    greets

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor DJPhaidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    482

    Default traktor with phones

    I have used an Iphone and an Ipod Touch to control traktor with a few different programs that are available from the App Store, like TouchOSC and MrMr. As far as other phones, don't know if they have any similar programs, but if there is an OSC or MIDI program available for the phone, it will be able to control traktor.

    13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor steveboyett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    374

    Default

    Could I impose on you to spell out how you got this to work? Traktor seems to be very iffy about using OSC. I got the ITM DJ app for my iPhone, but the additional things I had to learn about/install/futz with to make it work were prohibitive. I don't want to have to get a degree from MIT just to make boomchikky beats! I'd rather go straight MIDI on my controllers if at all possible anyhow.
    Steve Boyett
    Podcasts: Groovelectric | Podrunner | Podrunner: Intervals
    Traktor user

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor DJPhaidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    482

    Default

    With ITM DJ, google it and go to the main site for ITM. There you will find instructions on how to download the server to your computer to make it work. Then all you will have to do is map the MIDI inside of traktor.

    The easiest way to do OSC to midi is to download and purchase a program called OSCulator. It can convert OSC messages to Midi and back. This can work great with the Iphone app MrMr and TouchOSC. The hard way to go about it is to use PureData or Max/MSP, as I'm finding out currently. What a pain.

    Unfortunately, you won't have to get a degree from MIT, but since Traktor doesn't yet support OSC, you will have to put in some time understanding the MIDI to OSC conversions and setting them up.

    13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

  5. #5
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Put some +1's here in this feature requst post for OSC support in Traktor, we really need as many people to +1 as possible to see if we can up the priority of this - http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...ad.php?t=75550

    For you guys who think this doesnt effect you... If you want a tight sync between Ableton and Traktor when Max for Live comes out then give this a +1 !! Going by the reading material i have read so far we should be able to build OSC timecode support into Ableton using Max - so all that would be left is for Traktor to support it.

  6. #6
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,351

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DennisJ View Post
    is that possible? or only with the iphone?

    greets
    Yes it is possible on phones with Windows Mobile 6.1 pro.
    Currently it's only working through ActiveSync, though a WiFi module is already in place.

    Have a look at There's'a.

    I have had some posts on it earlier on, but will try to get in a tutorial or something when some more urgent things get done.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    296

    Default

    btw, is it possible to control two sliders or something at once on the iphone/itouch using touchosc?

    greets

  8. #8
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DennisJ View Post
    btw, is it possible to control two sliders or something at once on the iphone/itouch using touchosc?

    greets
    Yes it has multitouch capabilities.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    296

    Default

    so 3 or 4 fingers are also possible?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •