Dell Inspiron & Traktors CPU Meter
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Jo3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NW UK
    Posts
    457

    Default Dell Inspiron & Traktors CPU Meter

    My Dell Inspiron laptop has decided to start maxing out the cpu meter every so many seconds causing a crackle in the sound. Iv killed nearly all processes and have played around with the various latency settings on the audio 4 control panel. Iv recorded a set and the sound quality is awful. Im running xp and done various tweaks. It's got a 1.79Ghz and 1.87GB Ram. Any ideas? Im thinking a new laptop. It just seems strange its only just started to happen.

    Cheers
    MBPro - UC-33e - Audio 10 - TSP2 - Xone 22 - 1210's - Mackie MR5's

  2. #2
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Evissa Town, Ibiza
    Posts
    92

    Default

    My last Dell started doing this after a while. Turned out it was overheating. Is there any way you can check your CPU temperature?

    Fus

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    395

    Default

    If it's a problem that has just started happening, I would recommend trying to fix it rather than just trashing your laptop as it's clear that your laptop should be able to run everything just fine.

    Maybe it is overheating, the only other things that come to mind are maybe you have a virus or your antivirus was running a scan or Windows was updating, something like that?

  4. #4
    Tech Guru charo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    i AM the cookie
    Posts
    947

    Default

    or he might have spyware.
    We don't believe in the star system. We want the focus to be on the music. If we have to create an image, it must be an artificial image. That combination hides our physicality and also shows our view of the star system. It is not a compromise-daftpunk

  5. #5
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cologne/Germany
    Posts
    2,189

    Default

    i don't think it's a virus (but check it!!)
    check your cpu temperatur (speed fan will do it --> http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php )
    you also can try to clean the fan of your laptop with a vacuum cleaner (not much power)..

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bay Area, CA.
    Posts
    179

    Default

    I *just* finished reading a post from a user over on the Hercules RMX forum who had a similar dilemma and as it turned out, it was faulty hardware. He didn't know it until he checked the Event Viewer logs and saw a bunch of errors.

    Might be worth your while to check the Event Viewer logs if you haven't already. From past postings I've read, wireless cards and DVD/CD drives ended up being the hardware culprits.

    That post I mentioned turned out to be a great happy ending story too -->
    http://tinyurl.com/dcgw2a

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •