Serato vs Traktor. More like Rane vs NI?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Serato vs Traktor. More like Rane vs NI?

Im no Serato expert (Im not even 100% sure Rane owns Serato) but I have understood them as "that other dj software". Anyways it goes like this;

I have always wondered why Serato/Rane wont just compete more aggressively with NI adding a more direct controller alternatives to what NI makes with Traktor and controllers like the S4,S2,F1,X1 even adding the very well perceived compatibility with other products like Machine. I think they have very good products with Itch and adding features to make it a real contender to Traktor wouldn't be that hard.

Yes they have a strong DVS following but controllerism is booming and I think they do have the expertise, money and fame to really go at it. Having the Twitch, Xone DX and the NS6/7 is nice but not enough to really make a dent on NI armor, kinda like they are followers rather than trend setters or 'why they wont simply produce a controller under their brand rather than having another company make it', nothing wrong with that, but really work internally and make something ambitious. The Bridge has a lot of potential but looks like their internal handshaking process and creative direction wont just make them stand out.

If Rane could make a controller with the build quality of their mixers, compatible with serato/itch + more features and make it cost less than $1000 I think NI would get worried about their dormant adversary. Maybe this whole thing is perception but that same perception has quite a lot of folks like me creaming their pants at any NI teaser which translate to quite several thousands of dollars.

I love Traktor but I would try Serato/Itch in a heartbeat when I see something that makes me go "ohh" and "ahh". The Twitch is as close as I have gotten to it but besides that... *crickets*.
    Erase. Stop. Start.

Tech Guru

Quote Originally Posted by Quenepas View Post