How many hours should a beginning DJ practice?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default How many hours should a beginning DJ practice?

So ive been djing for about 2 months now, and im becoming more and more serious about it. So how long should i practice a day? or a week? until i get bored or what? how many hours should i mix to get better? ALSO i find myself getting very bored when putting cue points on almost all of my songs i mix, is this supposed to be not fun? becuase i know it needs to be done to make amazing mixes.

They say it takes 10,000 hours practice to become an expert at something
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

Tech Guru

how long is a piece of string?

I mix for around 30 minutes a day. A bit of that is trying new stuff, mucking around with cue juggling and stuff. I spend around 3 hours listening to music, and during that I'll sort of mix in my head.

Weekends I'll try and get a 1 hour+ mix done, and then listen to it to see where I went wrong.

Setting cue points is alright for me, as I do it while I'm listening to the tracks, and I have predetermined places for them normally.

So just mix whenever you can, if you find yourself getting bored maybe DJing isn't for you.
    BCF 2000
    Traktor Pro 2
    Kontrol X1

DJTT Administrator del Ritmo padi_04's Avatar

You are thinking too much, just go along and enjoy yourself.

Tech Mentor

Macbook Pro 15' - Kontrol S4 - MF Pro Beatmasher - NI Maschine- Korg Nano Kontrol - Akai MPK Mini- Champagne Bottles

instead of watching mind numbing, spirit crushing gameshows on television, mix
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Quote Originally Posted by oliosky View Post