Xone DX vs S2? - Page 5
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 66

Thread: Xone DX vs S2?

  1. #41
    Tech Mentor Serkan Yerdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Turkey-İstanbul
    Posts
    226

    Default

    When ı ask the question about the choice for myself between pioneer ddj ergo-v and S2. They convinced me to buy S2.I will be ordering a S2 in couple of days so after the convincing ı can say S2 .

    S2 +
    Macbook Pro-Mixmeister Fusion-Traktor Pro 2-Audio 2

  2. #42
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    478

    Default

    I am also a DX owner and I love the thing. The hot cue buttons are responsive as can be so maybe the unit GI had a problem. IMO the DX is heads above the S2. Build is typcial A&H with a 10x10 soundcard. That pic pointing out how supposedly cheap the DX is, is totally wrong. The buttons in that pic are not what the buttons are like. That may have been an early pic because the buttons are like a hard silver plastic. Its not a mixer/controller, its just a controller that enables you to connect other sources and play them through the software but you still need a computer that is running ITch or Traktor. I use the DX with Traktor and it maps perfectly. I had heard that A&H started making the DX for Traktor and for whatever reason that didn't work out so they went with itch. Whether thats true or not, I don't know but I will tell you that A&H has 4 different mappings you can download and the 1 I use for me is perfect. Every button does what its meant to do. The encoder pitch knob was something I wasn't crazy about but it does make it easy to move in hundredths for pitch and because I use Traktor in external mode and don't use the volume faders, I mapped the 2 outside faders to also control pitch, so I have the best of both worlds there. The jogs are not made for scratching. For pitch bending, phase matching, beat matching, they do what they are supposed to do. The whole high res pitch bend arguement, its like saying you can tell the difference between 1080p and 720p, you know its not high res therfore its inferior and I can tell the difference...you're mind is fooling you. The S2 does have sample button controls, that would be a plus. Build and sound go to the DX, mapping would be equal. The DX has been discontinued but will always be supported by A&H. For the price its at now, its more than worth every penny. Then again for the S2 special that comes with Traktor, also a good deal. I already had Traktor when I bought the DX so it wasn't an issue.

  3. #43
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Chicagolandarea
    Posts
    186

    Default

    One other minor point of interest for me with the DX:

    From Mix Architekt's site (LINK):

    A side note about the DX is that the Master and Booth controls on the unit are VCA's that control the analogue output of the master and booth outputs. What this means for you is that in the unfortunate event that your computer takes a dump and won't respond or vomits noise and chaos, you can always turn down the outputs. There is a mini-plug available as a direct input for an iPod to keep the party moving.


    I don't believe the S2 has this option.

    ?????
    Xone DX, SE-DJ5000, Itch
    http://soundcloud.com/eizhauz

  4. #44
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Weeellllll, the playing field is levelling out somewhat!

    Apologies if this threads already been done. Felt like this was quite specific to my situation so didn't even check!

    The jogs, apart from being a bit on the small side, aren't really a problem as I wouldn't be scratching at all.

    To be honest, my head says go with the S2, heart with the DX! So I'm going to leave it down to which ever I can get for less money before the sale runs out

  5. #45
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Right, rather than make a new thread may as well put this here....
    Been offered a pair of Citronic mpcd-s6 with Gemini ps-626 usb mixer for 200 (might be able to get them cheaper). This obviously isn't groundbreaking kit, but may (or may not) mean a transition to CDJs when (if) I wanted to start gigging would be easier?
    What exactly would I need to hook this setup up to Traktor as well? As that's definitely my preferred route if using proper decks.

    Obviously the S2 would still probably be more fun and potentially easier to learn on/be more creative with?

    EDIT: Also, looking at a pair of CDJ200s with Numark DM1002 MII mixer. These are up for 380, should be able to get cheaper but will probably end up a similar price once I've picked them up with petrol money. These may or may not still be available.

    Options, options!
    Last edited by KS2; 02-16-2012 at 06:00 PM.

  6. #46
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KS2 View Post
    Right, rather than make a new thread may as well put this here....
    Been offered a pair of Citronic mpcd-s6 with Gemini ps-626 usb mixer for 200 (might be able to get them cheaper). This obviously isn't groundbreaking kit, but may (or may not) mean a transition to CDJs when (if) I wanted to start gigging would be easier?
    What exactly would I need to hook this setup up to Traktor as well? As that's definitely my preferred route if using proper decks.

    Obviously the S2 would still probably be more fun and potentially easier to learn on/be more creative with?

    EDIT: Also, looking at a pair of CDJ200s with Numark DM1002 MII mixer. These are up for 380, should be able to get cheaper but will probably end up a similar price once I've picked them up with petrol money. These may or may not still be available.

    Options, options!
    Definetly dont get the cdjs. The S2 will be far better than CDJ200s and crappy numark mixer.

    Cost would also be very prohibitive with the turntables as well as you'd have to get a traktor scratch capable soundcard and software.

  7. #47
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    924

    Default

    My experience from owning three (yes, 3) different DX units...

    Theres a reason the DX plummeted in price, and it's not because A&H was feeling generous. The unit was a flop:

    - No power button...seriously, what the hell were they thinking. It gets pretty old yanking and plugging the power cord and getting a massive *POP* over a sound system whenever you want to use the damn thing.
    - Glitching controls: every time I booted thing this thing up for usage, I would need to wiggle every control at least once because upon first usage, it would cause the audio to skip momentarily.
    - The dB meters on that thing were a joke.
    - No touch sensitive platters, although honestly this was more of a personal preference coming from a CDJ user. The S2 actually has that, which makes a world of difference when it comes to feel.
    - The audio-thru function gave me wildly varying levels from time to time.
    - There was no cue/mix knob, I had to map the crossfader to do CUE/PGM mixing. Again, how the hell did they overlook this simple feature. This has been a fundamental feature on every freaking DJ mixer for over 30 years, come on A&H.

    On the bright side, it felt solid, and looked pretty.

    Then I ended up purchasing an S4, which was miles and beyond an improvement over the DX. Don't take my word for it though, go into a Guitar Center and compare the features and feel yourself.

    The only reason I ended up pawning mine was because I went with an EKS Otus Raw to plug directly into club mixers since I got sort of tired of doing software mixing.

    Just my $0.02

  8. #48
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oliosky View Post
    Definetly dont get the cdjs. The S2 will be far better than CDJ200s and crappy numark mixer.

    Cost would also be very prohibitive with the turntables as well as you'd have to get a traktor scratch capable soundcard and software.
    Only reason I'd go for them is for the transition/workflow thing down the line. Could save for a better mixer? Software isn't an issue as I've got a mate with spare all sorts (all legit).

  9. #49
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mmauve View Post
    My experience from owning three (yes, 3) different DX units...

    Theres a reason the DX plummeted in price, and it's not because A&H was feeling generous. The unit was a flop:

    - No power button...seriously, what the hell were they thinking. It gets pretty old yanking and plugging the power cord and getting a massive *POP* over a sound system whenever you want to use the damn thing.
    - Glitching controls: every time I booted thing this thing up for usage, I would need to wiggle every control at least once because upon first usage, it would cause the audio to skip momentarily.
    - The dB meters on that thing were a joke.
    - No touch sensitive platters, although honestly this was more of a personal preference coming from a CDJ user. The S2 actually has that, which makes a world of difference when it comes to feel.
    - The audio-thru function gave me wildly varying levels from time to time.
    - There was no cue/mix knob, I had to map the crossfader to do CUE/PGM mixing. Again, how the hell did they overlook this simple feature. This has been a fundamental feature on every freaking DJ mixer for over 30 years, come on A&H.

    On the bright side, it felt solid, and looked pretty.

    Then I ended up purchasing an S4, which was miles and beyond an improvement over the DX. Don't take my word for it though, go into a Guitar Center and compare the features and feel yourself.

    The only reason I ended up pawning mine was because I went with an EKS Otus Raw to plug directly into club mixers since I got sort of tired of doing software mixing.

    Just my $0.02
    Cheers, this is the sort of stuff that makes things a lot easier to decide, damning stuff! haha

  10. #50
    Tech Guru geminimech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Stafford, VA
    Posts
    645

    Default

    The lack of a power button is silly.

    And there have been a few that have a harness issue that causes an output to drop.

    But the price is definitely low to get rid of stock because it was a flop (I judge this on sales).

    I do have a beef with no cue/mix as well. The VU meter's are supposed to give you master and cue when you are cueing a channel and do not. At least in Itch, and that's a bug. And it is annoying. But you learn to deal.
    Cheers!
    | 13" rMBP | KORG ZERO4 | NOVATION TWITCH | 2 X CDJ-200 | KONTROL X1 |

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •