Super-noob here! guick genre guestion.
    Tech Mentor

Default Super-noob here! guick genre guestion.

Hey,
    I have been trying to look for this type of music but I never really could figure out what exact genre it is. I like listening to Roger Sanchez and Carl Cox and they play this kind of stuff I think. It sounds cool and I know its some type of house but what genre exactly is it. And where do I look for this type of house?
    • Tech house
    • Minimal
    • Deep house
    • (insert here) house

Good mix, never the less
    http://youtu.be/P6u2DiD8uGc

I think there is a cross over of what you have listed but I can't here any minimal to be honest?

I would add that there are some electro house riffs in there too.

Think that is pretty much it?

It's been discussed on here before that genres as a whole are diffcult to pigeon hole as the lines between them these days are very blurred.

Use what you have as a starting point if you are unfamiliar with some types of house but half the fun for me is stumbling across stuff while "digging" through music whether it be online or in a shop, don't affraid to look at other genres as you may be surprised.

Most download sites will have a "people who bought this, also bought...." or "if you like this then try this...." options so make sure you utilise them for similar sounds.

It's a slow process sometimes but you get out the time you put in!!

Hope this helps.
    MBP, 15.4", Ableton Live 8 Suite, Novation Remote SL, Pioneer XDJ-RX, Traktor, VCI 100SE!

Tech Student

I think also add 'progressive' house to your list.

Find a mix cd of each these artists and hunt down the tracks that stand out for you. Then, use the techniques that Fyoog suggested to find similar artists.

Also, digging through youtube is a fun & easy way to find new, similar, artists.

Beatport.com is super helpful. Use the genre tab to find your niche! My tastes are ever-changing!

Quote Originally Posted by GI Trackt View Post