N00b

Thread: N00b

Tech Student

Default N00b

Hi music community,

For many years now I've been a laptop DJ...however recently it has come to my attention that I'm not taken seriously because I don't have some huge array of hardware.

While unfortunate, I'm willing to combat the haters.

I have Ableton, and I recently acquired an M-Audio Oxygen 25. I'm new to using both, and would like to get into live remixing. I'm a fast learner, and very studious. I like to get my hands dirty and jump in the deep end. In terms of music, I mess with varieties of house, dubstep and old school hip-hop.

Thus, if anyone can point me towards any useful templates, educational YT videos, blog posts, forum threads, etc, I would appreciate it. Thanks!

Also, I am a Windows user if that helps.

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D

Tech Mentor

For many years now I've been a laptop DJ...however recently it has come to my attention that I'm not taken seriously because I don't have some huge array of hardware.

While unfortunate, I'm willing to combat the haters.
    Well lets say you were going to a pizzeria to get some pizza. You get there and its not a business establishment but its some guy's house in his regular kitchen with a pizza making kit he bought at the regular grocery store that he cooks in his regular oven and then says to you, here is your large pizza, that will be $12.50. Do you see where I'm going? Would you think of that guy as a professional Pizza Maker or just a guy that as a hobby likes to make pizza?