Traktor Playing A Deck Backwards Using CDJs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1

    Default Traktor Playing A Deck Backwards Using CDJs

    KIT (All brand new -4 weeks Old):
    Traktor Scratch Pro 2
    Audio 10
    Running on Macbook Pro (2009) 500GB drive / 8GB RAM
    Pioneer CDJs-1000 + Traktor CD Controllers
    Pioneer DJM-800 Mixer

    Also use a Traktor Kontrol X1


    I've seen this issue on a few other posts but most were relating to vinyl which I am not using so wanted to start a fresh one as none of the ones I found seemed to actually answer the problem.

    So at home I haven't experienced this issue but in clubs / radio studios I have.

    The better scenario Ive had is the CD plays backwards from the start so I have a chance to reboot which mostly fixes (all cables etc are 100% correct.)

    The worst case is I'll have set up in the club and both play forwards and fine, then one start play backwards. I've tried swapping RCA cables when this happens to compensate but makes no difference and as I'm already playing by the rebooting is no option. Luckily I have an X1 plugged in to help get round this but I'm obviously not getting the full experience here.

    As you can see from my other 2 posts I'm feeling very frustrated as I just moved from Serato to Traktor and it's taking a while to get set up:


    Reload this Page CDJ Deck Playing track up to + 20% Pitch in Traktor
    http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthr...628#post434628

    Traktor Wont play M4a:
    http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthr...d=1#post434615

  2. #2
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    If I had to guess I would say it's an issue with your timecode quality. You've (apparently) ruled out RCA polarity, so that's not it. Is this always with the same needles? Also, have you tried putting the reversed channel in cue and listening to the actual audio coming from the deck? You might want to listen for a hum or other noise.

    Could be something intermittent like a ground loop, or a problem with the cables or audio interface.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    This has happened to me a few times too. I can't remember how I remedied it.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    What do the scopes look like when this is happening?
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    324

    Default

    This happens to me as well occasionally, but it's never a huge problem. I believe what I do is I'll either start switch to a different mode (go from Relative to Absolute and then back again) or switch off the CDJ and let it reboot. Usually fixes the problem, but you're right, it's irritating.
    Traktor Kontrol Z2 | 2x Stanton ST-150 Turntables | Traktor Kontrol F1 | MacBook

    www.mixcloud.com/sunshineraleigh

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Sunshine View Post
    This happens to me as well occasionally, but it's never a huge problem. I believe what I do is I'll either start switch to a different mode (go from Relative to Absolute and then back again) or switch off the CDJ and let it reboot. Usually fixes the problem, but you're right, it's irritating.
    After moving from vinyl / cdjs for my first gig out with traktor, this happened to me. I tried changing cds and using using different cables. Had to reboot traktor and then it was fine. Only thing I didn't try was trying to recalibrate traktor.

    Has NI made a comment on why this is and any solutions?

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Some mentioned to me that this is due to the cables being plugged in the wrong way round?? Anyone else heard this.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ctdf View Post
    Only thing I didn't try was trying to recalibrate traktor.
    this is the first thing you should try
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  9. #9
    Tech Guru lethal_pizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maida Vegas, London
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ctdf View Post
    this is due to the cables being plugged in the wrong way round?
    quite often yes, you can tell from the scopes
    DJTT Nu Disco Mix Train Vol 1
    beats and balearic bobs in north-west london
    iTunes podcast
    soundcloud

  10. #10
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Boston/Worcester
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    I know when I had a loose connection in one of my RCA's on my 1210's it used to do the same thing when it lost signal from it. Maybe double check if the RCA's are good. I dnno

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •