Stanton ST8-150 or Technics 1210 MKII for Newcomer?
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Stanton ST8-150 or Technics 1210 MKII for Newcomer?

Hey all,

I realise that this topic has been discussed to death around the internet. So that you're aware, I have already read through this thread:
    http://forum.djtechtools.com/showthread.php?t=31965

I was hoping that you might be able to provide some input on my specific requirements. I'm a beginner looking to get into turntablism and after much saving have set aside a little over £1000 for new gear. Since I'd like to use digital music, I'm thinking 2 turntables + mixer and Serato (or a Rane TTM 57SL) + Novation Dicers.

I'm strung between the Techincs SL 1210 MKII and Stanton STR8 150. A pair of B-stock Technics that have been seller refurbished by professionals will cost me £510, vs. £500 for a pair of new Stantons (a pretty good deal on both IMO). However, I'm having a really hard time deciding between the two. At the moment I've drawn the following conclusions:

Stanton (£500 new, 3 year warranty):
    - New, therefore no risk
    - Higher torque
    - Easier to find replacement parts in future? New and upcoming - could eventually replace Technics?

Technics (£510 B-stock without carts/styli, 1 year warranty):
    - Industry standard
    - Very widely used and have stood the test of time
    - Adapter slot for Novation Dicers (which I plan on buying)

Based on the prices I'm being offered, what do you guys suggest I go with? Sorry to revive the now age-old discussion, but I'm spending a lot of money and want to make sure I've done my homework!

Thanks!

Use the search bar...do some of your own homework more than enough of these threads already.

I'd say go with the Technics, they'll keep their value much longer than the Stantons. Nothing wrong with the STR8 tables, but they don't quite match up to the build quality and "feel" of the Technics.