DJ - Bring Serato Box and Laptop
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Guru

Default DJ - Bring Serato Box and Laptop

I'm playing tonight at a trendy artsy spot in the design (arts) district in Miami. This place recently has had GZA from Wu-Tang perfom, DJ Premiere, and a few other hip-hop and soul/funk type artists. It's my first time playing there so I asked the person who got me the gig to find out what the club set up was so I knew what to bring. I'm figuring this place would only have turntables. The response from the manager was

"Tell him to bring his serato box and laptop, needles if uses vinyle or CD's if he uses CDJ's. We have a pioneer mixer, 2 Technic Turntables and 2 CDJ's"

I often see the question here if anyone is discriminated at clubs from using a controller, and people often reply "used whatever you can rock the crowd with". While that is an honest statement -- I find more club managers have the mentality of this guy. Serato and CDJ's or 1200's. Honestly speaking I could show up tonight with an Audio 8 and TSP and he probably wouldn't care or have have a clue, but having never been there I'm not sure if an S4 would fit in that booth or if they would be open to it since he's already telling me to bring SSL and needles or CD's.

I know it's different everywhere --- but in my experience (which isn't as much as others here) is that if you want to play at a club, then you should be using what the club expects you to play on. It makes getting gigs like this one that much easier.
    SSL - DJM 800 - Technic 1200's - X1 - ITCH - NS6 - VCI-300

Tech Mentor

this is exactly the reason why i practice with bscly everything: turntables, cd players and my trusty s4. I'm not saying I have everything of that but i do own a S4 DVS and I do manual beatmatching with turntables and sometimes use the s4 in a similiar manner in which you would use CDJ's.