How old is too old for a MBP?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard DjEryx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sandy, UT
    Posts
    39

    Default How old is too old for a MBP?

    So a customer came in to my work (FedEx) yesterday and they were shipping some MacBooks that they sold for $600 each. And I asked him why they were so cheap. He replied saying it was because they were 4 years old. Yet they had never been used and looked amazing.

    So this got me to thinkin that instead of spending $1300 on a new mac I could save a buttload of cash by getting an older model. So my question for you guys is this.. How old is too old for a Macbook?



    PS. All it needs to be able to run is Traktor Pro for the time being.

  2. #2
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,347

    Default

    There's people playing the latest version of traktor, while they still have a powerPC CPU.

    (Mine dates from 2009, 2nd gen intel CPU, and still works like a charm!)
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    324

    Default

    '07 MacBook (black) running Traktor Scratch Duo 2. Just put Snow Leopard on it, and it's happy as can be, no issues whatsoever.
    Traktor Kontrol Z2 | 2x Stanton ST-150 Turntables | Traktor Kontrol F1 | MacBook

    www.mixcloud.com/sunshineraleigh

  4. #4
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    What Macbook Model?

    I would not pay $600 for a White or Black model regardless of the condition, however if its a First Gen Alu Unibody its well worth it.

    Also running a Mid 2009 MBP and it Rocks with anything I throw at it, Ableton/traktor/itch/VDJ/Mixvibes/Mixxx etc..

    My GF has a first gen Unibody Alu and apart from .53mhz and a non-replaceable battery its essentially the same machine. I've used it on occasions for gigs too without any issue with Traktor / Ableton or combo of both.

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard DjEryx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sandy, UT
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deevey View Post
    What Macbook Model?

    I would not pay $600 for a White or Black model regardless of the condition, however if its a First Gen Alu Unibody its well worth it.

    Also running a Mid 2009 MBP and it Rocks with anything I throw at it, Ableton/traktor/itch/VDJ/Mixvibes/Mixxx etc..

    My GF has a first gen Unibody Alu and apart from .53mhz and a non-replaceable battery its essentially the same machine. I've used it on occasions for gigs too without any issue with Traktor / Ableton or combo of both.
    Nope he was selling Unibody Aluminum models. They looks just like the brand new ones, I never would've been able to tell they were 4 years old unless he told me.

    So what I'm getting at is there's no reason for me to get a brand new mac. am i right? haha

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Liambo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Scotland
    Posts
    726

    Default

    I have just bought a December 09 Unibody 15" and paid 600 for it. I'm still trying to figure out if it's a good deal but i'm happy with it and it's doing everything i want!

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    588

    Default

    I run a 2006/2007 White macbook, bought refurbished...only 2GB RAM 250GB HD, and i have no issues running Traktor, Ableton, Logic, Max/MSP (with some pretty intensive DSP stuff) or Photoshop etc.

    Only problems i encounter is with Ableton and Logic running rewired with VSTs and M4L stuff running (VSTs like Massive, Absynth etc.)...which most CPUs struggle with tbh.

    Oh and i don't exactly look after my macbook, it's always 85%+ full (hdd) and i never do a fresh restart before working with CPU intensive programs.

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard DjEryx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Sandy, UT
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Well I'm so glad to hear this guys! Thanks for all the input. This is gonna save me a shitload of money

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Anything Core2Duo and 2GB RAM or better should do just fine.

    Before upgrading to my new MacBook Air, my older Black MacBook (2.0GhZ C2D + 2GB RAM) was doing just fine with Traktor Pro 2, Ableton & Reason. I decided to upgrade for other reasons.
    13" Macbook Air (OS 10.8/256GB SSD/4GB RAM) | Traktor S2
    Latest DJ Recording: The Wedding Set (40 Minute House Set)

  10. #10
    Tech Guru diezdiazgiant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    805

    Default

    dude - get us a link!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •