Question about controllers (and perhaps DJing in general)

Default Question about controllers (and perhaps DJing in general)

Hello DJTT community,

Before I arrive at the point of the thread, I thought I would give a few details about myself.

I am pretty new to DJing, but as far as music goes I have been a musician for over a decade. I am a percussionist by trade and have studied a variety of styles and have learned different percussion instruments. I also have a relatively good working knowledge of music theory, but you'd have to give me some time to review how to do a harmonic analysis of a Bach chorale :P

I enjoy all sorts of music and don't particularly leave out any one genre even if 90% of the music inside that genre is music I don't personally enjoy. My attitude is that if the music speaks to me on some level then it's my kind of music. I realize that's a bit vague but I don't want to deviate from the thread some sort of essay on what certain music I like and why. As far as "spinning" in my free time, I'll mess around with anything, be it R&B, electronica, rock, house, or video game music (old and new). Of course, I couldn't say that I have spun anything really successful so far, but it's a good deal of fun making mistakes and having a few successes!

Getting to the point of the thread, I am intrigued by the prospect of a Midifighter Classic (the new 3D model looks neat, although it might be too much for someone like me), but I already have some equipment - namely a Vestax Typhoon and a Kontrol X1. I jumped on buying the X1 since NI had a deal to get Traktor 2 Pro too for free during the summer. Thus, I also have a nice piece of software.