Audio setup for cuing in headphones
    Tech Convert

Default Audio setup for cuing in headphones

Alright this is day 2 of me coming within an inch of smashing my equipment over what seems to be my smallest but biggest problem yet. I am very new to this DJ stuff but I've been messing around with TSP2 for a little while. So I now have 2 Technic 1200's running through a Rane ttm-56 mixer and into the Audio 10 and finally to my MacBook pro. I cannot for the life of me figure out how to cue the next song in the headphones without it coming through my speakers. I've tried all different output settings in Traktor, unhooked, restarted everything even tried putting my headphones right into the Audio 10 which did nothing. Both tracks fade from A to B fine but whether or not the headphones button is clicked, both songs play through both my speakers and headphones. What is the obvious solution which I'm sure is right in front of my face that I'm missing??

Tech Mentor

You shouldn't be using the headphone button in Traktor if you're plugging your headphones into an external mixer...

The mixer itself will have a dedicated cue knob or slider that will let you listen to channel A or B, or both.

external mixing. use the mixer to cue. solved
    Acer E5 i7 16GB 512SSD 2TBHD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ DUAL X1s ~ DN-X1600 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ ZED6FX ~ AT2020

" I’m the Dude, so that’s what you call me. That or, uh His Dudeness, or uh Duder, or El Duderino, if you’re not into the whole brevity thing. "

Tech Convert

Yup that was the retard step I was missing, thanks to both

Tech Mentor

No worries! First time I tried to hook up my gear externally I definitely had to do a double take.

Tech Convert

Ok, heres my problem.

I have a macbook and an S2. I can't get the main mix to play through my macbook and cue in the headphones. Is this even possible?

What setting should I use so that I can hear the main externally yet still cue in my cans?