Advice for an old vinyl DJ contemplating the move to digital
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Advice for an old vinyl DJ contemplating the move to digital

Hola, first time poster here. I wanted to drop a quick question to see if anyone could provide some advice on my best options for moving forward with digital dj'ing. By way of background, I first started DJ'ing in the late 90's and was for all intents and purposes, a bedroom DJ. I played a handful of parties in college, and one "rave," which was my biggest audience to date. In any event, I graduated college, tried to do some gigs in vegas - failed at getting in the door, and pretty much quit playing with any regularity once I got a full time job.

Fast forward 10 years, and I still have my 1200s and a crappy numark 2 channel mixer (with the faders now cracking), along with 500+ records of tunes, all from the 90s and early 2000's. I pulled my equipment out of storage and started playing again for fun, which has been a blast, but the music is dated and I would like to be able to play some of the new tunes. Also, being able to incorporate my setup at a houseparty with friends using a pure controller/digital setup is a consideration. Thus, my foray into the digital music world. So here's where we get down to my request:

I am considering Traktor Scratch Duo (no need to do pro as I only have 2 decks) for DVS control, but am worried that to have any fun with the additional controls/efx that the program provides, I will likely need to also get a midi controller of some sort (Kontrol X1 or Midifighter being the best options). Is this accurate, or are there people who just use the computer to plug songs into each deck? I guess coming from such a simple set up with no efx at all, I am kind of overwhelmed with the possibilities for on the fly remixing/looping that traktor provides, but without an effective means of using it it seems pointless.