Need advice: Numark turntables + timecode or new controller?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Need advice: Numark turntables + timecode or new controller?

Summary: I'm a beginner, and I'm looking to invest ~$400 in new gear. Should I pick a controller or go with a cheap Numark turntables + timecode setup with Traktor?

I'm a bedroom DJ looking to take things a little more seriously, but having fun at the same time. I have a day job that I'm planning to stick with, so DJing would be really more of a hobby, perhaps spinning at some house parties here and there mostly. I don't anticipate getting paid for gigs ever, so I'm a little hesitant in plunking down a lot of $$$ for expensive gear.

I've owned a Numark Total Control for about 4 years now, and I do mess around with it from time to time, but overall its a toy, so I'm thinking of upgrading my gear. I had a chance to play around with some 1200s and I absolutely loved mixing on vinyl - it was so much more fun and interactive than turning the jog wheels of my TC! So now, I need advice from you guys on whether I should pick up some turntables.

I spin trance/progressive house, and some occasional house music, nothing too fancy like scratching/cue-point juggling etc, so I don't *need* the specific features that either platform will offer. My main goal is to have fun.

I've been eyeing the Numark DJ in a box setup for $130:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/NUMARK-DJ-IN...ht_3774wt_1048

I could pair this up with a used Audio 8 DJ + timecode vinyls for about $250 for a total cost of $380

I do love the awesome routines that Ean puts up, so I'm also interested in controllers. I've been eyeing the new Behringer modular controllers - it seems like I can get a pretty versatile setup for about $300-$400.

The question is - what would you guys recommend? Is it too late in the game to get turntables?
    Last edited by projectd; 03-11-2012 at 04:20 PM.