Choosing a mixer (Rane TTM 57SL vs. Stanton M.207 + SL2)
    Tech Convert

Default Choosing a mixer (Rane TTM 57SL vs. Stanton M.207 + SL2)

Hey guys,

So I'm a complete beginner and just bought a pair of Technics. I'm now in search of a mixer, and have to decide whether I'd like to buy an expensive mixer as a long term investment, or a cheaper mixer which I might later replace.

I just about have a large enough budget for a Rane TTM 57SL. The advantage of this is it's immediate compatibility with Serato Scratch Live software (no need for a SL box and the buttons are mapped out of the box, so less need to fiddle with my laptop while mixing). Given that I will definitely be using Serato (don't want to spend huge amounts on new vinyl), buying a cheaper mixer means dishing out an extra £350 for a Serato box.

The best alternative I've been able to find is the Stanton M.207 mixer, which with the Serato SL2 comes out to £650 (versus £900 for the 57SL).

What I'd like to know is whether the additional £250 for the TTM 57SL is justifiable. Since I'm completely new to DJing/turntablism, I'm having a hard time weighing out the benefits of each option. And given that there's a pretty large price gap between the Stanton and Rane mixers, there isn't anything on the internet directly comparing the two.

The other thing I'd like to know is how easy it is to switch between using timecoded vinyl and normal vinyl on the go with the different hardware options. I anticipate using vinyl from time to time, and would like to be able to easily switch between vinyl and Serato. Is there an option for me to use normal vinyl on one deck and control vinyl on the other?

I'm happy for you to suggest better alternatives if you have any.

Thanks!

Tech Convert

Anyone?