Is there an iPad that specializes in loops (for live DJing)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default Is there an iPad that specializes in loops (for live DJing)

    I will stress, I'm looking for something to go w/ DJing w/ CDs, so an intuitive way to adjust tempo down to .01% preferrably is a must... preferably something not too sensitive since I have dick fingers.

    Anywho, I'd really like to treat this app like a 3rd deck... but would mainly just use it for loops. As such, the loops would have to be quantized, a la Traktor. I looked at iMaschine but AFAIK, that's not going to have the nudging I need for the tempo.

    Sorry for the general question... I've just been out of it for ages and actually traded my wife for an iPad recently.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    Touch osc or lemur

  3. #3
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TommyQuiet View Post
    Touch osc or lemur
    These both seem to support some other type of controller or software. Nifty, but not what I'm looking for. I actually want to hook the audio up to the mixer on a 3rd channel. Basically, bring my 3rd deck with me (w/o having to lug around a 3rd deck).
    Last edited by kiss-o-matic; 03-26-2012 at 10:57 AM.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru basspenetrator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Marburg/Germany
    Posts
    2,187

    Default

    do you know meta.dj? i havent used it but it seems ok for your needs..

    http://www.soundtrends.com/apps/metadj-1/


    how do you hook up your ipad to your setup? i just bought the alesis io dock and am pretty amazed by its sound quality compared to the normal jack..
    Setup: TP 2, VCI-400 EGE, MF3D, MF Classic, DIY-Midifighter, iPad 2, Aiaiai Tma-1 // Launchpad, Ecler Smac32, 2 CDJ900, Presonus Firebox, KRK Rokit 8 //
    soundcloud
    facebook
    formerly know as weltraumpapst

  5. #5
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    That might work. I'm only thinking for relatively small places that don't have stellar sound anyway, so the normal jack is probably okay. But, I might look into the Alesis dock if it really is that much better.

    Thanks for the heads up. Will look into it.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    317

    Default

    i use meta.dj

    it is the closest thing to what you want

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default

    its called dj loops, i think. it costs a few bucks.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru kiss-o-matic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Kaek: How much control do you have over the tempo? What I would want is literally, a button that can shift it in as small of increments as .01. Does it have something like that?

  9. #9
    Tech Guru zestoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK, Ukraine, Romania
    Posts
    2,860

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiss-o-matic View Post
    I've just been out of it for ages and actually traded my wife for an iPad recently.
    gaining a cool gadget at the expense of a wife sounds like win/win to me
    11mba / 13mbp / tsp2 / live9 / audio10 / 2x reloop rp7000gold / 2x xdj1000 / 2x d2
    maschine mk2 / x1 mk2 / z1 / f1 / midifighter / lpd8 / 2x launchpad / launchkontrol xl
    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich
    "wohoo, i'm touched, turn on the FX"

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Meta.dj allows you to set the master tempo to whatever you like.

    All looptastic decks follow the master tempo. Therefore you can increase it or decrease it as you wish.

    Different devices behave differently.

    Track decks can either sync to the master tempo or play normally. Track bpms are set when you first analyse the file.

    Meta.dj definitely requires prep work though to make good use of it.

    You should have your tracks analysed and gridded properly.

    Your loops should be processed and imported into looptastic.

    My favourite part of meta.dj is definitely looptastic. It is simply great at doing loopy stuff

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •