Beatmatching by ear
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Beatmatching by ear

So i've been djing for about 3-4 months now on the traktor kontrol s2. I know the basics when using a controller, wavelengths and a BPM counter. I've been researching a lot as well and have learned that beatmatching by ear is skill all djs should have. Now i'm confused on how to go about by doing this, how would i find out a track BPM by ear and how can i apply it to another song. Sorry if i'm a little vague any tricks tips or any sort of help would be greatly appreciated as i want to become a better DJ and beatmatching by ear seems to be a very valued trait.

You listen and practice practice practice practice practice. Get frustrated, smash some things, then practice again. It's a bitch but you'll get it.

(Oh and turn off the phase meters and cover the BPM part of Traktor, you'll never learn if you look at that while doing it)

Start counting the beats, however many there are in 60 seconds = the BPM of the track.

Play track A, count the beats, count the bars, drop track B on the "1" beat.

I have always used the BPM numbers in Traktor to help me beatmatch - if they're there, ya might as well use 'em. For most EDM, there is a change in the track every 32 beats. I like to drop on the 1 after the 32 (or a set of 32), if that makes any sense. If you know your tracks, this becomes a lot simpler and your tracks will blend a lot better. Don't listen to any of my mixes in my signature for examples of this, ha!

I just recently got a pile of vinyl that I've been practicing on. No more BPM numbers for me! I have been cheating a bit and looking at beatport and making notes of the BPM, but for the most part, I just grab a watch with a second hand and count for 30 seconds, take that number and double it. I then know the BPM of the track. So I either find another vinyl with the same bpm to play next, or I adjust my pitch fader as necessary.