Going over to full digital set up and wanted some advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    essex, UK
    Posts
    109

    Default Going over to full digital set up and wanted some advice

    Hi Everyone

    Just like to say wicked site you have here - very comprehensive.

    I am in the process of selling my beloved 1210's - djm 400 and serato scratch live and replace it with VCI 100 black and fast track pro.

    I have looked into the above and they both get good ratings but i have a question:

    Will this set up run on my G5 imac running OSX 10.4.11 ?

    and any other advice RE what im buying just incase there is a better option.

    Cheers

    Luke

  2. #2
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    You can use Traktor 3 on a G5 mac but you cant run Traktor Pro sadly.

    Thats really the only concern there is that i can think of.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    essex, UK
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Cheers Bento

    Do you think that what im buying is a good upgrade from the 1210's ?

    If i were to buy a new mac - would an intel macbook run Traktor pro without probs ?

    Is Traktor 3 any good ? ( as it is free with the vci 100 black )

  4. #4
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Zurich
    Posts
    855

    Default

    a macbook pro will run traktor pro just fine. see this thread for some discussion on this:
    http://www.djtechtools.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4213

    the biggest issue i see with the current macbooks is that they only have 2 usb ports and no longer also a firewire port.
    Traktor Pro 2.5.0, Mixxx 1.9.1, Massive, Ableton Live 8
    MBP 15" 8GB RAM OS 10.7.4, Audio Kontrol 1, Audio 2 DJ, Sennheiser HD-25 II
    DJTT VCI-100SE Arcade, Akai LDP8, M-Audio Pro Keystation 88, Novation Launchpad, iTM DJ
    ifnotwhynot.me | soundcloud.com | fairtilizer.com | digitaldj planet | digitaldj music

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    essex, UK
    Posts
    109

    Default

    cheers lsmith

    would hate to spend the money on macbook pro and then traktor pro not to work !

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor ZachDero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Traktor Pro runs fine on my MacBook Pro. I have the model before the newest one and I have never had a problem running it. The only problem I have is for some reason if I start Traktor Pro with my Fast Track Pro soundcard turned on it crashes. It works fine if I start Traktor and then turn on my soundcard. I'm assuming it's a problem with my soundcard though, because every once in a while my computer won't reboot if the soundcard is on.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Zurich
    Posts
    855

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JesC View Post
    Mr Smith, the macbook pro has a FW800 port you have to get a FW 800 to 400 cable which cost ten buck to run FW soundcards
    Sure .. but the poster was asking about a Macbook and not about a Macbook Pro ..
    Traktor Pro 2.5.0, Mixxx 1.9.1, Massive, Ableton Live 8
    MBP 15" 8GB RAM OS 10.7.4, Audio Kontrol 1, Audio 2 DJ, Sennheiser HD-25 II
    DJTT VCI-100SE Arcade, Akai LDP8, M-Audio Pro Keystation 88, Novation Launchpad, iTM DJ
    ifnotwhynot.me | soundcloud.com | fairtilizer.com | digitaldj planet | digitaldj music

  8. #8
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Zurich
    Posts
    855

    Default

    thought it seems that now he is infact talking about a Macbook Pro. So yes a unibody Macbook has 2 USB2 ports. The old still available white Macbook additionally has a FW400. The Macbook Pro's come with 2 (the 17" even 3) USB2 ports and a FW800 (that also works with FW400).
    Traktor Pro 2.5.0, Mixxx 1.9.1, Massive, Ableton Live 8
    MBP 15" 8GB RAM OS 10.7.4, Audio Kontrol 1, Audio 2 DJ, Sennheiser HD-25 II
    DJTT VCI-100SE Arcade, Akai LDP8, M-Audio Pro Keystation 88, Novation Launchpad, iTM DJ
    ifnotwhynot.me | soundcloud.com | fairtilizer.com | digitaldj planet | digitaldj music

  9. #9
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    snap, tru..will edit my prev post
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    essex, UK
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Thanks everyone for your input

    now i cant wait to get the vci 100 and fast track pro

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •