Need help with a setup...
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Need help with a setup...

    soo im kinda knew to the dj world, got my self a traktor kontrol S2 a macbook pro, and 5.1 speakers with 3.5mm jack.

    i know that the S2 has a built in sound card where i can connect a XLR from speakers(studio monitors) to 1/4 inch(the midi controller)

    but since i dont have studio monitors such as the KRK Rokit or iKey or Behringer i have a logitech 5.1 speakers that have a 3.5mm jack

    my question is can i just simply buy 3.5m to 1/4 inch adapter and hook it up like that or will it not work?

    might seem like a noob but i need to knoww
    thankss

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    420

    Default

    It would work, don't expect great results but it will get you by until you can fund something better. My practice rig is an old Sharp hifi system.

  3. #3
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rotebass View Post
    It would work, don't expect great results but it will get you by until you can fund something better. My practice rig is an old Sharp hifi system.


    i just realized that the S2 has 2 inputs for 1/4 inch jacks, so if i only put in one, will the music only come out from 1 deck? or still both ?

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Baltimore MD
    Posts
    228

    Default

    It should be fine, since those outputs are master outputs that come from the ¨mixer,¨ not deck outputs.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor shr3dder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    492

    Default

    It'll work but it'll suck, save up for new speakers quick, you don't need studio monitors any old hifi speakers + amp setup is fine. Music really isn't designed for 5.1 systems. Especially cheap ones.

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    42

    Default

    if you plan to use the 5.1 setup until you can afford a better speaker setup, youll need at least a 3.5mm jack to dual rca out (red and white male) connections. there, you can invest in two 1/4 tls adapters and hook it up that way. then you'll get full stereo sound, but it isnt ideal. something like this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Audio-C...3651909&sr=8-1
    http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-GPR101-RC...3651938&sr=1-1

    adjust what you need accordingly. hope this helps a bit
    TSP 2 / VCI-400 EGE / MBP 15" Intel Core Duo 2GB / Audio-Technica ATH-M50

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    420

    Default

    http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/B1031A.aspx <--- inexpensive but still better then entry level option
    http://www.krksys.com/krk-studio-mon...t/rokit-5.html <--- slightly more expensive, little less bass response but would mate up great with the 10" sub

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    487

    Default

    Just use your computer's internal sound card. Plug it into your headphone jack and bypass the S4's sound card entirely. You won't be able to cue tracks... but you're at home so you don't need to.

    You really don't need to buy studio monitors for at-home practice... Use your limited budget towards other controllers, PA gear, more music, or really anything else.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •