Preparing tracks before a gig
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    207

    Default Preparing tracks before a gig

    What do you guys do to your tracks to prepare for a gig?

    Not talking about simply labelling them - but more to the actual tracks themselves. If you're using MP3, do you prepare the levels in advance - add compression? remove DC offset? Top and tail them?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Just set my cue points so there's no need to top/tail them. As far as levels that's what the gain control is for. No need to add compression as everything is squashed to hell these days it seems.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Wuz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    381

    Default

    I grid mine, only because when i grid i do it so quickly traktor pro often screws up because it hasn't finished caching the track and i need to restart it.

    Worst bug ever.
    < Progressive | Trance | Full On Psy | Liquid DnB >
    < Xone:1D:22:2D + Vestax PadOne >

  4. #4
    Tech Wizard Sc1C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    86

    Default

    All new tracks go through the same process:

    Naming convention
    Add all id3 info
    Add artwork if missing
    Run through Mixed In Key
    Backup to storage
    Run through Platinum Notes
    Import into Traktor
    Beatgrid
    Set Cue points
    Backup to storage

    I backup twice separately because I want to keep an unprocessed copy, as well as the backup of my actual Traktor collection. I find that the use of PN means the gain control is rarely touched... It works well IMO.
    Save money on binoculars - Simply move closer to the object you intend to view!

  5. #5
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcpress View Post
    remove DC offset?
    thats ment to be part of the mixdown process so a dj doesnt have to worry about it.

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor alien2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    415

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcpress View Post
    What do you guys do to your tracks to prepare for a gig?

    Not talking about simply labelling them - but more to the actual tracks themselves. If you're using MP3, do you prepare the levels in advance - add compression? remove DC offset? Top and tail them?
    I don't do much mate, I just store them on a proper playlist, have them analized by traktor previous the gig and set a load cue to most of them. The levels are fixed while playing (and aid with the autogain), because the adjustment depend on the other track playing most of the time. My aproach is more old school, just really know and learn my tracks.

  7. #7
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sc1C View Post
    All new tracks go through the same process:

    Naming convention
    Add all id3 info
    Add artwork if missing
    Run through Mixed In Key
    Backup to storage
    Run through Platinum Notes
    Import into Traktor
    Beatgrid
    Set Cue points
    Backup to storage
    Very similar process minus the mixed in key.
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    You use Platinum notes, but not Mixed in Key? Any reason?

  9. #9
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    PN does the pitch adj for me, and I always use the key lock on T3.4
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard Cliffm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Does PN really make a difference in sound?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •