Multiple Genre BPM transitions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Multiple Genre BPM transitions

    I'm extremely new to traktor and the world of Sync, so please be gentle.

    Ok, i know this may seem strange to some of you.
    but i play multiple genres in one gig, going from house to hip hop to d'n'b to dubstep.

    I use serato but am seriously considering moving to traktor, have a copy of LE & a X1.

    my main question is this, i have my dubstep stuff grid marked to 140bpm and say a hip hop track at 70bpm.
    i would normally just match these tracks up (as a half tempo will still beatmatch) and mix.
    In traktor with sync on the hip hop track sounds STUPID because it sync'ed up to 140.

    Anybody got any ideas about how to blend this tempo change?

    prime example for me is Flux Pavilion & Skism - Jump Back (140bpm) into Ludacris - What's Your Fantasy(roughly 70 bpm).

    is there anyway to adjust the tracks beatgrid on the fly and have it snap the global tempo to the new adjusted bpm. ie, from 140 - 70?

    Example.
    dubstep playing at 140bpm.
    change the beatgrid bpm (& keep the grid accuracy) to 70 and have the global bpm snap to 70 (track plays back as normal)

    cue up hip hop track at 70bpm and mix?

    I'm looking for tips to use sync for this.
    Thanks
    Last edited by justiy; 04-12-2012 at 04:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I'm sorry my friend but sync is not going to help you out for things like this.

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Cheers, these are the things i need to know about lol.
    I could do it manually, with the x1 and use pitch bend to keep it in time.
    But i was thinking perhaps my lack of knowledge/experience with Traktor was just limiting me.
    And you know what they say, if ya don't know.... ask.

    Thanks for your reply.

  4. #4
    Tech Guru djproben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,705

    Default

    You can hit the button that says x2 or /2 and double/half the BPM on the fly if the track is not locked.

    Otherwise just grid your dubstep at 70 instead of 140; in both cases sync will work fine.
    "Art is what you can get away with." - Marshall McLuhan

  5. #5
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, USA
    Posts
    782

    Default

    I know it catches a lot of shit around here but Virtual DJ will sync the way you describe (is there a term for it? I have no clue). VDJ8 looks like something worth waiting for if you're not fully invested in software yet. Just saying.

    //ducks

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati, USA
    Posts
    782

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djproben View Post
    You can hit the button that says x2 or /2 and double/half the BPM on the fly if the track is not locked.
    That's how I usually do it. Can you map that? That would be neat.

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djproben View Post
    You can hit the button that says x2 or /2 and double/half the BPM on the fly if the track is not locked.

    Otherwise just grid your dubstep at 70 instead of 140; in both cases sync will work fine.
    ok this is what i'm looking for.
    i tried this 3 times, and it behaved the way i wanted it to on the third go.
    Many thanks.

    Also , mapped it on midi mode. EPIC

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard Sircronus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    29

    Default

    also if you go into your options you can select to have your tracks to be temposynced or beatsynced. i believe beatsyning should get the 140 and 70 bpm tracks to match up nicely.
    Macbook Pro 2.4 ghz, Traktor Kontrol S4, Midi Fighter Classic
    Logic Pro 9, NI Razor, NI Massive, Synlynth 1
    http://soundcloud.com/theofficialsircronus
    http://www.facebook.com/sircronusofficial

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hollywood, California
    Posts
    46

    Default

    I say....effects transition out if the BPM are uneven.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru guiltyblade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djproben View Post
    You can hit the button that says x2 or /2 and double/half the BPM on the fly if the track is not locked.

    Otherwise just grid your dubstep at 70 instead of 140; in both cases sync will work fine.
    this

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •