Vestax VDA-1000

Thread: Vestax VDA-1000

Default Vestax VDA-1000

Hi All

I'm new to this site and I need some advice. Does anyone out there use the Vestax VDA-1000 ? Is it a good buy ?

http://www.vestax.com/v/products/active/vda1000.html

Or should I simply go with an external mixer such as a Pioneer DJM 600 or one of the mixers from the Allen and Heath XONE range ?

I need somthing I can use when I'm not piggy backing off another DJ's mixer.

All suggestions welcome !

My setup

HP laptop
    Vestax VCI-100
    Numark djio soundcard

it seems like this is more than just a mixer, really more of an amp. if you're looking for something you can EQ with, this probably isn't it, but if you need a decent amp, this is pretty good for the money (just by looking at it, i have no physical experience with this).
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

Yeah looks very much like an amp to me too.

But seeings how all suggestions are welcome i would say route your audio to Ableton and mix in the box And if you are hell bent on getting a mixer i would say try to pick one with analogue circuitry otherwise its almost pointless mixing out of the box in my honest opinion.

I guess what I'm looking for is an amp to raise the decibel level if I don't have "a spare channel" on another DJ's mixer to use. Perhaps the amp in a mixer is good enough ? I can also plug in my ipod as backup as I've learnt my lesson. Traktor crashed on me at a party because I forgot to turn off Norton Antivirus. No one was amused.

I've got Ableton but I'm a newbie to that so I haven't thought about routing Traktor through it. I thought that was only possible on a Mac. I take it if I looked around on this site I'll find that info.

Thanks for your help guys. I'm after the perfect setup !!!