200 Guest Private Party - Live Audio Advice?!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default 200 Guest Private Party - Live Audio Advice?!

Hello everyone,

I've been hired as a DJ for a 200 person party in a space that is about 50ft x 100ft with a approx. 15ft ceiling. I'm mainly a producer so I don't own equipment for live sounds (e.g. speakers, microphone, etc.). What I'll be bringing is headphones, laptop, and a Kontrol S4. Basically, I'm trying to get a solid sound setup similar to what they would have in typical clubs (e.g. Amnesia, Space).

As of now, I have placed a rental on a subwoofer (Yorkville LS801P), 2 mid sized speakers (Yorkville NX55's I believe), and 2 monitors.

So my questions are:

How should the speakers/subwoofer be placed? Should they create an equilateral triangle with the dancefloor like a studio? Where should the subwoofer be (I've had problems with putting the subwoofer near the DJ booth because it makes it extremely difficult to hear)?

Any tips concerning that actual sound? Is there some sort of guideline I should be following for making sure everything is balanced (e.g. EQing)?

Possibly more questions to come, thanks!

P.S. My S4 will be going through a mixer before the speakers.

You should rephrase your question, mate.

Amnesia and Space ARE NOT 50ft x 100ft venues.

The sub placement shouldn't be a problem - as long as it doesn't cause unwanted vibration (if you're using TT's) you should be alright. The human ear can't really tell where bass sounds are coming from...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

I'm no pa guru, but have heard the sub should be against a wall or in a corner on the floor, if possible. The tops should be at least 25ft apart, if possible, and slightly above head level.