Important information regarding transferring Traktor licence's bundled with F1
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor JSM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    454

    Default Important information regarding transferring Traktor licence's bundled with F1

    I tried to give my colleague an unregistered serial number from my new F1 controller. He couldn't register it, so he contacted NI registration support.

    I also contacted them, and have just got the reply.

    THEY WILL NOT ALLOW TRANSFERS, to give the serial to someone else you now have to give them the hardware too.

    I now have several serial numbers, I can only use one at a time ! ... Why can't I give away a serial if I want?


    Has anyone had this problem before?

    Is this a new thing ?

    Has anyone been successful in giving away a serial from the bundled TP2.5 that comes with the F1?


    Quote from N.I.

    Hello Mark,

    this won't work, because the soft,- and hardware are bundled.

    So he need the F1 hardware as qualifying base product.

    Best regards
    Christian, Native Instruments Support Team

    --
    NATIVE INSTRUMENTS GmbH
    Schlesische Strasse 29-30
    D-10997 Berlin, Germany
    http://www.native-instruments.com/
    XPS L701x i7 16GbRAM 2x 500Gb SSD RAID HD (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) 1 x 1Tb 7200 int.
    TSP 2.6.1 Audio 8 Audio 4 4 x Denon SC-2000 2 x DX2 EMU shortboard MIDI_FIGHTER_PRO_PLUS
    SL1210Mk5 x 2 Numark TTX x2 DJM-T1 DDM4000 MIDI Mixer Numark 4TRAK neoD+ cables
    8000+ 45's & 2500+ 12's 2 x Traktor Kontrol S4 X1 & F1

  2. #2
    Tech Guru papo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Miami, Fl
    Posts
    555

    Default

    I guess you can try to unregister the serial that you are currently using (the one that did not come with the F1.) and give it to your friend.

    Then, register your F1 and your F1 software serial under your account.

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor JSM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    454

    Default

    i'd lose the scratch upgrade that way. I asked about doing that way.

    I will just give him another serial as I now have 5 ! and it looks like every purchase I make with NI i'll get another one that I can't give away.
    XPS L701x i7 16GbRAM 2x 500Gb SSD RAID HD (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) 1 x 1Tb 7200 int.
    TSP 2.6.1 Audio 8 Audio 4 4 x Denon SC-2000 2 x DX2 EMU shortboard MIDI_FIGHTER_PRO_PLUS
    SL1210Mk5 x 2 Numark TTX x2 DJM-T1 DDM4000 MIDI Mixer Numark 4TRAK neoD+ cables
    8000+ 45's & 2500+ 12's 2 x Traktor Kontrol S4 X1 & F1

  4. #4
    Tech Guru MiL0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brighton / Bangkok
    Posts
    1,387

    Default

    in that case, do these particular versions of Traktor only work when the F1 is plugged in?

    if not, what would happen if you lend him your F1 and then he installs Traktor? Once it's up and running you get the F1 back...

    (I'm sure NI has thought of this lol)

  5. #5
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MiL0 View Post
    if not, what would happen if you lend him your F1 and then he installs Traktor? Once it's up and running you get the F1 back...

    (I'm sure NI has thought of this lol)
    +1

    pretty sure you just need an f1 SN to register it


  6. #6
    Tech Mentor JSM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    454

    Default

    to register the traktor software serial (and activate it) you need both serials.

    In other words if, like me, you have a fair bit of hardware you'll end up with a load of software you can't do anything with.

    So in effect, the software bundle is nothing more than a way of increasing the sale price, as it has no function for those people who already own TSP etc.


    So if i gave someone this version of Traktor I'd have to give him the F1 too, hardly going to happen.

    Anyway, it's no longer a problem, I was giving this away to prevent someone using the cracked software. All this messing about and they chose to DL the cracked version instead (which works with both my S4 and my F1).
    XPS L701x i7 16GbRAM 2x 500Gb SSD RAID HD (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) 1 x 1Tb 7200 int.
    TSP 2.6.1 Audio 8 Audio 4 4 x Denon SC-2000 2 x DX2 EMU shortboard MIDI_FIGHTER_PRO_PLUS
    SL1210Mk5 x 2 Numark TTX x2 DJM-T1 DDM4000 MIDI Mixer Numark 4TRAK neoD+ cables
    8000+ 45's & 2500+ 12's 2 x Traktor Kontrol S4 X1 & F1

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor JSM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    454

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MiL0 View Post
    in that case, do these particular versions of Traktor only work when the F1 is plugged in?

    if not, what would happen if you lend him your F1 and then he installs Traktor? Once it's up and running you get the F1 back...

    (I'm sure NI has thought of this lol)

    The software functions without the F1 or anything else for that matter. The software isn't crippled, just that it's serial number is tied to the hardware. You have to use both to activate the software.

    If i gave him my F1 serial as well, it would show that HE owns it and not me.
    XPS L701x i7 16GbRAM 2x 500Gb SSD RAID HD (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) 1 x 1Tb 7200 int.
    TSP 2.6.1 Audio 8 Audio 4 4 x Denon SC-2000 2 x DX2 EMU shortboard MIDI_FIGHTER_PRO_PLUS
    SL1210Mk5 x 2 Numark TTX x2 DJM-T1 DDM4000 MIDI Mixer Numark 4TRAK neoD+ cables
    8000+ 45's & 2500+ 12's 2 x Traktor Kontrol S4 X1 & F1

  8. #8
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSM View Post
    to register the traktor software serial (and activate it) you need both serials.


    So if i gave someone this version of Traktor I'd have to give him the F1 too, hardly going to happen.
    right, so if you just wanted to give it away you could technically just give them the f1 serial to register it. you don't need to give them your f1 and it's not like the software and hardware are linked beyond that.


  9. #9
    Tech Mentor JSM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    454

    Default

    erm nope, didn't you read ?

    They have to REGISTER the F1 as theirs at the same time as registering the serial.
    XPS L701x i7 16GbRAM 2x 500Gb SSD RAID HD (Windows 7 Ultimate x64) 1 x 1Tb 7200 int.
    TSP 2.6.1 Audio 8 Audio 4 4 x Denon SC-2000 2 x DX2 EMU shortboard MIDI_FIGHTER_PRO_PLUS
    SL1210Mk5 x 2 Numark TTX x2 DJM-T1 DDM4000 MIDI Mixer Numark 4TRAK neoD+ cables
    8000+ 45's & 2500+ 12's 2 x Traktor Kontrol S4 X1 & F1

  10. #10
    RGAS Guru Xonetacular's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    4,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSM View Post
    erm nope, didn't you read ?

    They have to REGISTER the F1 as theirs at the same time as registering the serial.
    ok- let's say your friend registered your f1, so what?


Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •