Beginners Kit-List?
    Tech Mentor

Default Beginners Kit-List?

Hey DJTT Forum members. BiggChev here.

So I've been doing music production now for 10+ years. Started doing mostly hip-hop/rap production, and I've moved towards electronic music (electro house + drum n' bass type stuff to be specific.) So now that I've got a few of my own songs and a few remixes in the works the question of "How do I take these tracks live?" has arisen.

I'm very inspired by the Dj Shiftee approach to DJ-ing. The concept of Traktor Scratch Pro, Computer and Maschine seem to give the flexibility to be creative and blends old school dj-ing with the new school style. Also It seems to be a more interactive and artist involved way of bringing your music to the audience, like the guitarist of a rock band for example.

I have:

-Mac Book Pro
    -Maschine
    -Sennheiser headphones
    -Monitors

Need:

-Turntable(s)
    -Mixer

Essentially what I'm looking for is input/suggestions on which mixer+deck combo to get. This is something new to me so I'm not looking to spend too much $$$...I just want to see what can be done. Also, though I do have, and quite like, Native Instruments products, I am open to any type of suggestions.

Much Appreciated,
    Chev
    Last edited by BiggChev; 06-01-2012 at 08:43 AM. Reason: spelling error

DJTT Infectious Moderator photojojo's Avatar

The DNX1600 is a great four channel mixer that is TSP certified so you won't need to by a sound card to run Traktor scratch. In fact if you already have traktor pro you can use the S4 upgrade kit to turn it into Scratch pro.
    Chris Jennings FHP

Podcast - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Beatport Charts - x

If you like Native Instruments, and need a turntable and mixer still, why not look at the S4? Lots of buttons and knobs for mixin things up, more portable than decks and a mixer, and fully midi mappable.

But if you are set on turntables I won't try and sway you away from that, I love mine.