Buying new gear: opinions on Livid's OhmRGB and iPad apps?

Default Buying new gear: opinions on Livid's OhmRGB and iPad apps?

Hi there,

So I'm thinking of buying new gear. For a long time I managed to keep my GAS under control, but now it's time.

I've been making music and dj-ing for almost 2 yrs now. My current setup is listed below in my signature (I only use Ableton for producing atm), and what I do is essentially mix tracks in Traktor, play around with effects (beatmasher, slicer, etc) and trigger samples and loops with my controllers. Every now and then I improv a little with DTT's Powertools. I'm really into the idea of 'remixing on the fly' and want to get extremely good at it, so I was thinking of either sticking with Traktor and get to know it inside it out, or make the move to dj-ing in Ableton and see where that takes me.

So because I am considering making the move to Ableton, I was thinking of getting an OhmRGB (either slim or not, depending on money available). That way if I like the new possibilities ableton has to offer I can stick with it and have a controller that supposedly works beautifully with ableton. If I don't like it, I can go back to Traktor and still have a controller that works well and would maybe open new frontiers when used with Traktor. So my questions are: is my idea good, or overly optimistic? is the OhmRGB a good controller? Durable? Does it work well with Traktor and Ableton? Would an APC40 be a better choice?

Also, my parents have offered to buy me an iPad because they love me or something like that. At first I thought they should use that money to help me pay for an OhmRGB, but then I started reading about apps such as Korg's iKaossilator, NI's iMaschine, Properllerhead's Figure, Touch OSC, Konkreet Labs Performer, etc. I've tried out the first three and they are cool but I've never used them in any of my sets. What do you guys think? Has anyone benefited from iPad apps?

Thanks guys! Much appreciated!