Introduction and request for advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Introduction and request for advice

Hello everyone,

I'm glad to discover a serious forum on Digital DJing. After some lurking I am convinced that there is a lot of knowhow here!

My name is Peter and I have been DJing for a few years now. I own a pioneer set (2x cdj 800mk2 and djm 400) and I'm considering buying a set to use with traktor. The past few years I've played on a lot of different kinds of parties, playing house and unfortunately a lot of mainstream crap but it brings in some money. I'm pretty sure a lot of us here have been forced to sell our souls on that account.

Currently I'm very interested in playing techno and tech house which is really upcoming in the Netherlands. I'm convinced that within these genres the use of digital DJing can really step up the creative process (although the purists will fully disagree). Therefore I am in need of some advice with regard to buying new digital DJ gear and I greatly appreciate any comments! I already own a macbook pro.

A summary what I intend to do:
    - Use 2 controllers to control 4 decks in Traktor (considering the Xone K2 or Native's X1). But I don't think that I'm very good at customizing the midi commands. Are there any good templates for the K2 that do not have an extremely difficult learning curve? From what I've read, it is the new controller to go for.
    - Use a 4 channel mixer. I'm considering the xone:92, the db2 and the djm 900. Do you have any other recommendations? Furthermore I'm interested in the added value of effects on a mixer if you already have a lot of effects you can use from within traktor. Is it true that DJs like the 92 because of its filters and use effects like echo/delay/etc in traktor?