noob questions

Thread: noob questions

Default noob questions

hey,
    well for starters, this is prob the most awesome site/forum ive ever seen. the amount of help and knowledge u guys freely give. ive never seen anything like it. being around musicians my whole life...well they usually dont want anyone to know how they did something or got a certain sound.
    (a lil background so u understand where im coming from)
    ive been in bands since i was 15 in some capacity. i am a guitarist but have always had a love of synth in all its forms(trance,house,industrial...etc..).
    i have a macbook, microkorg, boss dr-660, and a presonus firestudio. ive been using this setup for recording but now im moving into a dj direction. ive have been POURING over info for about 6 months, trying to figure out not only want i want to do but what is the best gear to use.
    ive also talked to every dj(that isnt a douche waffle) in the area. most of them are just "dj's" that play songs or requests. i want to mash buttons and twist shit!! i digress
    im going with the s2 and traktor, price is good ad seems like a pretty safe bet.
    the questions i have are:
    1) how different are dj headphones vr studio headphones. i currently use a set of presonus i got from a friend.
    2)is there anyway to use either the microkorg or dr660 for midi control in tractor. if not cool. its more just to have extra stuff on stage to look cool. kinda like, i only need this combo amp with 2 12s.... but i have 2 full stacks

thnx

Welcome, it's really good here thanks to the friendly natives.

1) DJ headphones are much more bassy than studio ones. Still, can't see why you couldn't use yours, especially if you are mashing buttons & knob twiddling, as you won't be 'mixing' per se. (yea ppl?)