What do you charge?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default What do you charge?

So, I've been djing for a little over two years and have been taking any house party/event that I could get to play and get feedback from others. Recently, I was offered a regular gig at a new bar that has opened by me doing two weekends a month when I'm in school and an open option for next summer depending on how the bar does. The owner asked me how much I would charge for the nights (assuming a 9 pm-2am time slot) but I really wasn't too sure what to tell him, so on to my question: What would be a reasonable amount to ask him for? He said he has a booth so I wouldn't really need to bring my equipment except for a few side pieces that I use. Any input would be great from you guys! Thanks in advance!

Matt

Tech Mentor

Do they have a definite genre or is it up to you what to play? Are these prime days (Thurs-Sat) or week days? The second question is what really is going to determine how much you can charge. Another big aspect is where you are located and what the local market will support. If you overshoot your prices, people will easily undercut your business. If you go too cheap, you'll screw yourself out of money. I charge by the block to start with. I do $200 for the first 3 hours, and an additional $75 for each hour after that. This is with my own PA (albeit not the nicest on the block...) and equipment, so this is what I expect. I am also located in Raleigh, NC, and it seems that my prices generally reflect what the market will bear. At the end of the day, all I can tell you is that I'd gauge my abilities and charge accordingly.

From a pure business aspect: Bars aren't looking for the next big thing, they're looking for someone who'll do the job at a passable level for cheap. So gauge your abilities, then maybe tack on an extra $50-$100. This way you have room to negotiate.
    Traktor Kontrol Z2 | 2x Stanton ST-150 Turntables | Traktor Kontrol F1 | MacBook