What to add to the S2 to become better controllerist
    Tech Student

Default What to add to the S2 to become better controllerist

I'm relatively new to the dj scene (5 months give or take) and have had a blast using my s2 and finding new functionalities with it. Right now though I want to expand my ability and options when it comes to fx and cue points in an attempt to get into controllerism. I have been looking into the mf, the mf pro, and the f1. If you guys could lend some advice that'd be great. Btw I was also curious as to whether the mf pro is worth the money vs the mf. I can afford both but if the mf pro isnt worth twice the money itd be great to save the money there.

I guess before you plunk down cash on a new piece, how are your routines with the s2?

Honestly I have seen people throw down some pretty bad ass stuff with the s2. I'm just saying because more equipment does not necessarily mean more skill. You can do fx, usage, and mappings with the s2 (aka DJTT mapping), also you can drop 4 cue points at least with the s2 on it. Are you using beyond 4 cue points already?

I'm just playing devils advocate. I love gear and have an s2, x1 etc etc. And def love having the capabilities of having all those tools, I would just want to make sure you would be using it all to its extent.

If it were me I would consider an x1, then map it to have whatever you like.

Tech Student

My routines are solid and really have no problem mixing. The problems I have stem from my want to be more creative. I feel as if I am mostly playing other peoples stuff (which makes sense as I am not producing anything and don't plan on it atleast in the near future) and I want to make the sound more unique and more of a performance rather than simply moving between songs and adding small alterations. And I have run into the problem of not having as many cue points as I want. I'm limited to 4 cue points when I want to have somewhere around 6 or 7 sometimes.