Wanting to begin Music Production, how/what to get to start?
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Wanting to begin Music Production, how/what to get to start?

Hi so I want to start trying to make my own songs

I already have Ableton Live, but I don't really know how to use it. I am thinking to purchase a midi controller
    This one in particular, http://www.axemusic.com/product.asp?...=any&PT_ID=all

and try to figure Ableton out over the summer.
    Is the MPK Mini a good keyboard to begin with? What are some tips/tricks to use with Ableton?
    I am a total noob/beginner with this, and the only other music-type program I have is Traktor, which I use with my traktor S2.

The MPK Mini feels like a cheap piece of crap because it is. Unfortunately, you won't get anything better without spending a lot of money.

I think it wouldn't be a bad place to start, especially because it fits in a backpack. But I returned mine. That being said, if I got it used (in good condition) or on sale, I probably would have kept it. I think it'd be better if it cost $50 instead of $100. As a corollary, I like my LPD8, but I paid $35 instead of $70……If I'd paid $70 for it, I would have returned it.

I guess that's where the market has settled for stuff like this. To get better, the cheapest I know of (and have touched) is like $200. I'd think the Novation and M-Audio 25 key offerings would probably be the best, but they're also $200+.

So, for $100…I think the MPK mini does offer a good bit…and it's not like it's going to fall apart. It just feels like crap.
    Last edited by mostapha; 06-22-2012 at 04:04 PM.

I would suggest getting m-audio keystations which are simply the keyboard without any fancy drumpads or faders which you will probably won't use.

I'd say the opposite. I have a keystation 49e, and I never touch the thing. But I also have a Maschine and don't play keyboard. It does everything I need so far except for working as a control surface in Pro Tools.