traktor scratch pro w/ tinyxp
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    58

    Default traktor scratch pro w/ tinyxp

    hey folks,

    I'm having some troubles here getting TSP to run smoothly on my machine. After a complete format, recovery, reinstallation and two more gigs of ram, its only a little bit better. I did some serious memtests, numerous tweaks and pulled out most of my hair. When i reinstalled my OS, I partitioned the HD because I interested in installing linux just for curiosity s sake, but now i'm thinking of putting in tinyxp, and use it specifically for TSP.

    I know it would be pirated software, but, I'm kind of pissed that vista is being such a bitch, and i don't really care about it.

    computer specs,

    toshiba satillite a210
    amd turion64x2 @ 1.9 ghz
    4gigs ram
    5400 rpm HD, with tons of space left.

    symptoms are cpu meter spikes every once in a while and make real bad fart noises. TSP is updated, latest audio8 drivers. I have windows stripped down to the bare minumums...it should be enough machine to run TSP. My dpclat shows a spike every 15 seconds, up to about 450us. Iver tried shutting down everything, except the bare minumum to keep the computer running.

    Any help would be friggin awesome, my head is about to explode.

    thanks.
    Tim

    oh, and i guess my origional question was if any of you had experience with tinyxp and TSP.

    Cheers!!

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    307

    Default

    I have the turion 64x2 @2.0ghz in my laptop and I have no issues with Traktor. Is your bios updated? Latest drivers for everything? Is your traktor pirated?
    Silly DJ loops are for kids!

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I updated as much as i could. I'm not too sure about the bios though. I'll have to research that.

    no, traktor isn't pirated...I checked all my drivers...a couple of times.

    mabye its just getting hot. perhaps i should take it apart and see if some dust is clogging up the fan, or heat sink.

    is there a way to tell how hot your CPU is getting? would they put sensors in there? any idea how hot is too hot?

    tim

  4. #4
    DJTT Dominator JesC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    5,612

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timgkelly View Post
    ...
    is there a way to tell how hot your CPU is getting? would they put sensors in there? any idea how hot is too hot?

    tim
    http://download.cnet.com/Motherboard...-10518386.html

    mobo monitor and you should do a google search about the spec on ur processor and see how hot it can get before you start running into problems
    Controllerist: Think different | SoundCloud | MixCloud | Twitter |

  5. #5
    DJTT Moderator bloke Karlos Santos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Next to a canal in England.
    Posts
    9,028

    Default

    Some light reading about Toshiba Laptops and Traktor.
    This is an old thread but with some newer posts and some stuff about fans, overheating and general spikes with Satellites .
    http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...hiba+satellite

  6. #6
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    68

    Default

    I run Tiny XP on a separate partition on a 5 year old Dell 700M 2.0 Pentium M with 2 gigs of ram. Works great. I do have to take the battery off to keep the APC spikes away though. Just make sure you install the version that includes Windows media player - Traktor Pro needs the drivers in it to start up.

  7. #7

    Default

    you can make a check, if you system is optimized enough to run real time audio streaming with dpc latency checker:

    http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

    it will give you the information you need about your system....other than that i have also heard about toshiba satīs and probs with traktor..!

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Karlos Santos View Post
    Some light reading about Toshiba Laptops and Traktor.
    This is an old thread but with some newer posts and some stuff about fans, overheating and general spikes with Satellites .
    http://www.native-instruments.com/fo...hiba+satellite
    well, thats def. some closure for the situation im in. I'm still going to try the tinyxp and see how that works.

    I flashed the BIOS last night, nothing different. Time for a new laptop i guess...uhg.

    Funny thing is, it was running before, i just had to keep the latency up. I'd be reading boards and people would be like "oh, im only running 2 or 3 ms latency". I could never understand how anyone could get it that low.

    thanks again everyone. I'll try tinyxp tonight, and let yas know. Or i'll buy a new laptop...or take a loooong walk of a short roof.

  9. #9

    Default

    ..did you even read what i have written youmaybe that helps you to see if your system is set up right to handle tight latency..anyway enjoy

    http://www.fhqhosting.com/ui/dpclatency.swf
    Last edited by compact; 05-30-2009 at 08:38 AM.

  10. #10
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by compact View Post
    ..did you even read what i have written youmaybe that helps you to see if your system is set up right to handle tight latency..anyway enjoy

    http://www.fhqhosting.com/ui/dpclatency.swf
    Quote Originally Posted by timgkelly
    My dpclat shows a spike every 15 seconds, up to about 450us. Iver tried shutting down everything, except the bare minumum to keep the computer running.
    yep, i checked.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •