Traktor 2.0 Recording Issue

Default Traktor 2.0 Recording Issue

Hey guys,

I'm new to this whole thing so I hope you'll forgive me if I sound a bit naive here.

I have a Numark Mixdeck hooked up via USB to my Dell laptop running Win 7 x64. When I start recording with just a track on deck A it works fine and records okay, the same is true for when I have a track on deck B playing alone. The issue is when I have a track playing on each deck at the same time, even if the volume is down on one deck (so I can beatmatch it in my headphones) it still plays through in the recording, even though when I'm making the mix you don't hear it playing through! It is as if the program records both decks (if they are both playing) regardless of what I do on my tables: turn down the volume, use the cross-fader to only play one track, or click the little headphones icon on one of the tracks. Interestingly, when the tracks are playing I can't lower the volume manually on the channel meter either since there is no knob to adjust (see screenshot). It turns out that the only way I've figured out how to lower the volume on one deck is to use the gain knob, otherwise I can't figure out how to just 'preview' it in order to mix it in.

see all four pictures here (audio setup, output, recording, main screen)

any help would be appreciated. thanks!

p.s. when I set "source" (in 'mix recorder') to any of the available options (deck A, B, C, D, fx) and try recording it doesn't pick up on any audio. Though I can still hear the mix I am making, I can't record it then!