Virtual DJ 6
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Virtual DJ 6

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Virtual DJ 6

    Just wanted to share with everyone this great news...

    http://www.virtualdj.com/products/vi.../version6.html

    MIDI & HID support

  2. #2
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,598

    Default

    VDJscript definately sounds hawt.
    It's probably what Traktor lacks *just 8 modifiers *cough**

    When is it going to be released?

    EDIT: eww..already out but no trial (yet)
    DJDiscourse.com the new DJ community

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor DJPhaidon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HedgeHog View Post
    It's probably what Traktor lacks *just 8 modifiers *cough**
    Wait wait wait... only 8 modifiers is what traktor is lacking? You do realize that 8 modifiers, with double conditions logic and 8 conditions of each modifier, you can have more mappings with one button than most .tsi's have total? I don't understand why ONLY 8 modifiers is a bad thing. Me thinks you should use them more wisely if only having 8 is what makes you dislike Traktor.

    13" MacBook Pro 2.7 i7 w/dual Raid0 OWC SSDs - S4 - Ableton Live 8- Lemur- iPad 2

  4. #4
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    +1 Phaidon. for most people thats more than enough mate . I would use 3 at the max, don't like one button doing more than two things it just gets confusing imo. MORE KNOBS PLEASE!
    Last edited by Jester; 05-31-2009 at 09:42 PM.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  5. #5
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    yeah, seriously, when you do the math it gets astronomical

    1 button works on two different conditionals. So, theoretically, a button can have
    Every button can have more than 3000 different commands, depending on how in depth with modifiers you get
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  6. #6
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    The more i need functions the more i am learning how to set these buttons etc up the way i like them. My friend is "inheriting" my old controller soon, i joked to him he has to pay more for all the hours i spent mapping the bloody thing haha
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  7. #7
    Retired DJTT Moderator DvlsAdvct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Jersey/NYC
    Posts
    4,854

    Default

    hehe yeah... I picked up modifiers quick, and really quickly realized that the preset and variable changes in Bomes make EVERYTHING better
    It's the FAQ. Read it.

    My Mixes, Mashups and Rants

    Divided we stand
    United we fall

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    307

    Default

    As much as I loved VDJ this new version still sucks. Its missing the option for 4 decks. Super limited effects and the beatmatching engine is very weak, you cant modify the beatgrid at all. Cue jumping in VDJ isnt nearly as awesome as it is in TPro 3vs8 CP's? The scripting language looks brutally painfully in VDJ. In TPro its all drop down menus, and like Advct said you can use bomes to even further enhance it. I love the look of VDJ, but I need more functionality from it to make it worth my time.
    Silly DJ loops are for kids!

  9. #9
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Never actually had much of a fiddle with it so thanks for the heads up animus... Still quite a popular prog tho. So only has 2 decks, limited midi and very few cue points? Man i need at least 4 for most tracks. Enough features for many i expect.
    Last edited by Jester; 06-01-2009 at 04:18 AM.
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

  10. #10
    Schreiberie Meister Afterhour Ali's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tekki's crotch
    Posts
    1,598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJPhaidon View Post
    Wait wait wait... only 8 modifiers is what traktor is lacking? You do realize that 8 modifiers, with double conditions logic and 8 conditions of each modifier, you can have more mappings with one button than most .tsi's have total? I don't understand why ONLY 8 modifiers is a bad thing. Me thinks you should use them more wisely if only having 8 is what makes you dislike Traktor.
    You may be right if you do your layout from scratch, but I just picked up ean's where all 8 modifiers are already in use.
    Now you say I can still use the different states of them, but I have to fully understand beforehand which modifier does what in Ean's mapping.
    If there were more modifiers there would be no need to care about that.

    If you use more than one controller you easily reach the limit too.

    Sorry for turning OT
    DJDiscourse.com the new DJ community

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •