Why use traktor through ableton?
    Tech Convert

Default Why use traktor through ableton?

Hi all..

Im pretty new to ableton, and I have been reading a lot about it in her. But i was woundering what the big deal with it is. As i kan see, the things i get from directing the sound through live is that i kan set it up, so I kan use my own samples, and ad some other effects. Which of course is nice. but is there more to it? and are the some tutorials i can watch/read to get a better understanding?

I usually use traktor with my vci 100, where i can control it all. But how do i do that using live? Do i still use the vci fortrakter, and the use another controller for live or how do you do it?

I would appreciate any replys, as I would like to learn what all the fuss is about

traktor 3.4( the new update) touches on some intersting new concepts these are virtual midi ports and direct sound. I hope that direct-sound allows traktor to be more flexible with its audio in regard to other programs like ableton LIVE.

When audio is channeled through LIVE, there is a slight bit of delay added.

I use Jack osx to rout audio to LIVE on the macintosh. So it is possible.

Theres really no "one stop shop" that will do "everything" we want it to. By routing Traktor though Ableton, we have all the pros of having much more control over the decks than Ableton live supports. This really comes into its own when you want to layer you own Native Ableton/VST effects in serial or even parallel, in whatever way you want. This is why "smart mixing" is not possible in any other dj software other than Ableton Live. Though "smart mixing" is just one of many things *insert favorite dj software here* cant do.