Audio 4 + Vinyl HELP
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    17

    Default Audio 4 + Vinyl HELP

    Hi! i just have a question maybe stupid but i couldn't find the answer anywhere so here i am

    I use traktor scratch w/ Audio 4 but i also play Vinyl Records, if i buy a multicore cable can i play both vinyl and timecode by switching the phono/line in my mixer without having to disconect any cables at all? like u do with an Audio 8?

    Thanks for the help in advance

  2. #2
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    17

    Default

    never mind i can't thnks anyway

  3. #3
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Yes you can - you don't even need a multicore cable, you can just get a couple of "Y" splitters.



    You'll need 4 in number (2 for each deck). Send one pair (L+R) to your A4, and the other pair (L+R) to your mixer. Just flip the selector to PHONO when you want to play vinyl, and LINE when you'r using timecode.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  4. #4
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    17

    Default

    but if i do that i can't hear in STEREO quality, only mono. turntables are stereo u have to send L+R to the mixer, if u send L to mixer and R to audio 4 u get mono. right?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timcarton View Post
    but if i do that i can't hear in STEREO quality, only mono. turntables are stereo u have to send L+R to the mixer, if u send L to mixer and R to audio 4 u get mono. right?
    No club I have ever played at in 10+ years is wired for stereo, dont worry about it.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by timcarton
    but if i do that i can't hear in STEREO quality, only mono. turntables are stereo u have to send L+R to the mixer, if u send L to mixer and R to audio 4 u get mono. right?
    You've got it all wrong, mate! What you do, is split the TT L into 2 L's, and the TT right into 2 R's. Then take one of each (L&R), and route INTO your mixer, and the other one of each, and route into your A4.

    Twin Stereo, and you're golden.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor derschaich's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    412

    Default

    wait!

    just chose "external audio" in the track deck in traktor and go for it.

    the timecode signal and the normal vinyl signal both should go in you phono channel!

    (did i miss something here?)

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derschaich View Post
    wait!

    just chose "external audio" in the track deck in traktor and go for it.

    the timecode signal and the normal vinyl signal both should go in you phono channel!

    (did i miss something here?)
    yeah but this way you are required to have a computer hooked up... the other way they are talking about you don't need a computer hooked up...

  9. #9

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •