Auto Rest Function for knob values!?
    Tech Mentor

Default Auto Rest Function for knob values!?

So I'm new to the ableton mapping game. Despite this I've managed to map a couple of complex chain effects through trial and error. But what I've been trying to figure out is if there is a way for a knob value to automatically reset once the chain has turned off... so you don't have to turn your encoder back until zero. After a day of fiddling and searching, I've seen no solution. Is this a foolish task? is this even possible?

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D

Quote Originally Posted by Henrimartel View Post
    So I'm new to the ableton mapping game. Despite this I've managed to map a couple of complex chain effects through trial and error. But what I've been trying to figure out is if there is a way for a knob value to automatically reset once the chain has turned off... so you don't have to turn your encoder back until zero. After a day of fiddling and searching, I've seen no solution. Is this a foolish task? is this even possible?
    A button on your controller mapped to a macro knob with values set to 0|0 should do it I think.

If you use M4L there's other solutions which should work.

Sounds like you're using endless encoders?

But I don't see the point of what you're doing - you'll still need to have the rack visible in order to select which chain you'll be using, so why does it matter if your encoder is not set to zero? It's the difference between turning the encoder to the left or the right... Insignificant.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D

Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Sounds like you're using endless encoders?