DJing : How should I proceed
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default DJing : How should I proceed

So I'm trying to make some money off my music by getting DJ gigs. I live by NYC and I see DJ's all over my town at some of the outdoor restaurants.

Admittedly I'm an amateur and only been trying djing for a few months (plz don't post any nonsense about it requiring 20 years of masterful practive). I've been doing music since I was 6 and all things electronic since early in highschool.

My setup up is Traktor 2.5 w/ two xone k2's and maschine mikro. That serves all my purposes for mixing, effects, and cueing, looping, loading decks and all that good stuff. I guess where I am now is trying to decide how to proceed. I enjoy doing the whole housy/electro/minimal techno thing. All of those beats sort of flow into each other and they work really well with effects and looping and doing youre own thing. So thats one way to go I guess thats fun and somewhat creative. I don't really know ttoo many artists. But I don't have a problem mixing house stuff and I even throw in my own beats on maschine like richie hawton.

The other way I could go is maybe check out the top 200 itunes for hiphop rnb, pop, electronic and just play out all those mainstream songs. That I could do easily and people want to hear that at clubs and parties so I feel it would be an easy way to make money.

I got all the digital stuff (minus a serious sound system - don't know if I should save up for that being that many venues have their own)

So I guess if there are any working dj's making enough money to afford a shit apartment in brooklyn or something. Could you lend me some advice on how to proceed. And please no discouraging statements about how it takes a lifetime of mastery to make 50 bucks a night. This isn't Tabla playing. (that shit takes ten years to be a beginner haha)

BTW, does anyone know when remix decks are gonna be open for any midi controller.