Marketing tips?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Marketing tips?

Tech Wizard

Default Marketing tips?

Hey DJTT,

I am seeking advice of how to market yourself as a DJ. I've done a few local gigs and am starting to get exposure, but I'd like to expand to my downtown area, and just get myself out there. So my question is, how do you market yourself, or how do you get yourself out there as a DJ..?

Thanks,

SS

Ok, you got me started, here we go.

INTRODUCTION

"Marketing" is pretty vague itself. I studied it for a bit and I'm a DJ aswell so I'll try to give advice even though I didn't apply the following advice to my own case, since I don't DJ for a living and I don't really care about it at the moment.
    Furthermore, if I remember well, a good article has been published here on the DJTT blog "recently", or at least during the last year about "maketing yourself".

Anyway, it seems i found motivation for a giant wall of text, let's go.

PART 1 : Who are you ? Who do you need to be ?

First of all, your strategy will depend on what kind of DJ you want to be :

1) Spinning what pays your bills/what you are asked
    2) Be yourself, spinning music you love.

You might not be falling under any of the categories and just be a mix of both (you need to eat but you don't want to spin rihanna either), but it's up to you do define yourself and adapt my advice to your personnal case.

So that it's clear, i'll devide my advice in 2 parts, one for each "style". Of course, some tips will be redundants from one case to the other, but that only makes it even more important to follow.

• CASE 1
    Spinning what pays your bills/what you are asked to
    I'd say it's the "easy" side.

In the marketing process, you have to define your target.
    Since your goal as "style 1" is to make money, choose the biggest category of people/the one that pays the most as a group.

Where can you find them ?
    The biggest/most popular nightclub around, populated with people described above.