Need Equipment Recommendations
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Wizard

Default Need Equipment Recommendations

Hey everyone, I'm new to DJ'ing and I got a couple questions.

My goal is to do it for fun and occasional gigs at schools. I love entertaining people. Maybe if I get good, I'll do it for extra $$

I've played with virtual DJ and mixed some electronic music. But so far, VERY basic stuff.

I need to know what my next step is. I've looked at equipment (mp3 mixers, I don't want CD's) and seen everything from $100 USB Hercules mixers to $1000 Pioneer's...

I want to buy something that I can learn on at home, and still use at small (emphasis on small) events to make people shake their asses. I don't want to buy something I'll outgrow in a month, but something decent I'll appreciate for a while...

Please recommend some equipment... Also, is Traktor software better than Virtual DJ? I'm looking to mix electronic music (house, techno, etc.)

Thanks in advance!!

Quote Originally Posted by locksmith View Post
    Also, is Traktor software better than Virtual DJ? I'm looking to mix electronic music (house, techno, etc.)
    VDJ is easier at a beginner level
    Traktor is easier at an intermediate level
    VDJ is better at an advanced level

The best controller in price, construction and controls IMO is the Reloop TM2/4
    Why did the elephant get lost... Cause the Jungle is MASSIVE!

Regardless, I would try out both VDJ and Traktor's demos before buying. Same goes for controllers. If you can, go to a shop and test out all the different controllers. Get something with a built in soundcard too
    13" Mbp i7 | TMA-1 | Tech 1200's | RANE TTM-57 | NI Audio 4 | Kontrol S4 | F1 | KrK Rokit 5s

Quote Originally Posted by synthet1c View Post
    In your opinion...

If you're already using VDJ then stick with it, unless there's a reason you don't like it?