First real gig; have some questions....
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default First real gig; have some questions....

Hey guys, it's my first post here and I'm already asking for some advice.

I've been DJing parties for about 2 years now; just your basic on and off campus college parties, a New Years Eve party, little things like that. I have produced a couple of my own tracks which got some decent responses. I've been honing my skills, experimenting with different stuff, and I feel like i'm ready for my first real bar/club gig.

I emailed some places in my area asking if they had any openings or needed an opening or emergency guy. I have an interview with a place on Wednesday night at 8, asking me to bring a CD of a mix of mine.

Now this place is a pretty hot spot; State university up the street, big college scene. I frequent there every so often, I know the music they expect, I know the crowd. But I do have some questions about the setup they are going to be expecting from me.

I have an HP Pavilion with Traktor Pro 2 mapped to my Numark Mixtrack. When I play parties, I usually just hook up their speakers directly to my laptop, and go from there. I don't have an amp. I don't have my own speakers. I'm assuming this will be alright? I can hopefully just plug into their system. I'm not sure how this really works.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Tech Wizard

Usually from what I've heard you just plug in your laptop with a serato box or what ever software your using.

Quote Originally Posted by elgi95 View Post
    Usually from what I've heard you just plug in your laptop with a serato box or what ever software your using.
    That's what I was thinking. My mixer doesn't have an audio output though. I plug into my laptop headphone jack and play through there, using a splitter for my headphones and the hookup. My mixer is a Numark Mixtrack which is a USB insert.

Quote Originally Posted by DJ Altercation View Post