Powered USB Hubs for Macbook/Macbook Pro
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Guru Chilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    1,306

    Default Powered USB Hubs for Macbook/Macbook Pro

    So some general questions on powered USB hubs for Macbooks/Macbook Pros:

    1) What do you use, with success?
    2) Do you use the same hub in your studio as you do when you play live?
    3) What do you have connected to the hub?
    3) What have you tested that doesn't work?



    -------

    1) IOGear GUH284R
    2) I am using the same one for both
    3) I have 2 WD Passport HD's plugged into it. Sometimes an LED light.
    4) I have a Targus PAUH212 which does NOT work properly with my MBP

  2. #2
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,347

    Default

    USB hubs in your sound setup is not a good option.

    Mumbles about adding latency by using/sharing one and the same I/O controller.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  3. #3
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tekki View Post
    USB hubs in your sound setup is not a good option.

    Mumbles about adding latency by using/sharing one and the same I/O controller.
    I totally agree, avoid it where you can, its just one more thing to **** up and id that one cable falls out :\

    So saying sometimes you don't have an option.

  4. #4
    DJTT Ninja Mod tekki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Afterhour Ali's lap
    Posts
    11,347

    Default

    True that, but there's ways you can avoid it.
    RSTRCTD | twitter | facebook (RSTRCTD) facebook (LJ) | vimeo | pinterest | my studio | soundcloud (RSTRCTD)| soundcloud (LJ)
    -- CHECK our DEBUT (DEEP)HOUSE EP RELEASE ON BEATPORT "RSTRCTD - EXISTENCE" --

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Chilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    Short of buying an external firewire case for one of my hard drives, what option do I have?

    One of my setups in Traktor will be using the Saffire LE (firewire), one of the hd's, a VCI-100 SE, and a Trigger Finger.

    There just isn't an option on MBPs or MBs to use multiple usb devices (one of the shortcomings of Macs in general).

    Yes...I know I can just run a midi cable through the Saffire LE, but that doesn't address power issues (for instance).

  6. #6
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    You could use also smartcard of pcmcia firewire card to give you more usb or firewire ports.

  7. #7
    Tech Guru Chilly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    But the express cards aren't powered either.

    So I'm still falling short!

  8. #8
    Dr. Bento BentoSan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,383

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
    But the express cards aren't powered either.

    So I'm still falling short!
    Some come with power adapters that you plug into them, just like how usb hubs do.

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor jimmymac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Yorkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Using a mac you should really make use of those firewire ports they are rock solid.
    Macbook Pro 13" TP2 MFPro Beatmasher VCI-400 EGE VCI-100 EGE Arcade NOW SOLD! Presonus Firebox Vestax VMC004XLu SL1210's

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor jimmymac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Yorkshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    110

    Default

    top tip...

    On macbook pro's/powerbooks you can have a second firewire 400 port, by utilizing the firewire 800 port as a firewire 400 port.

    All you need to do it is a 9pin to 6pin firewire convertor lead

    I run my presonus firebox using a lead like this, i feel also the 9pin connection is more solid than the 6pin so less chance it could get knocked out.
    Macbook Pro 13" TP2 MFPro Beatmasher VCI-400 EGE VCI-100 EGE Arcade NOW SOLD! Presonus Firebox Vestax VMC004XLu SL1210's

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •