Blogging etiquette?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Guru

Default Blogging etiquette?

So I just started a blog to help promote my work and the work of my friends and other likeminded canadian artists and I'm very new to this whole thing as it's my first blog.

My question is am I required to get permission from artists to post their material on my blog? I was also wondering if there are any other restrictions I should abide by when posting peoples work, or re-posting articles from other sources.

thanks in advance

you should always at least ask, and if you've legitimately bought the work being posted, and are not making it available for download (ex. putting it in a flash player in the post), and are posting links to their sites, it should be fine.

in regards to articles, as long as you make it obvious it's a quote, and give a link to the original, i don't think anyone would really mind. just good practice to double check with the original artist though.
    soundcloud.com/hpntk / soundcloud.com/freakstep
    freakstep.com / thefreakbeat.com
    me on beatport / me on djtunes
    Quote Originally Posted by JesterNZDJ
    My solution: Pay some one to whack them so you don't have any competition

If your reposting articles from different sources then its curtosy to not jack the whole article. Take a paragraph or two which you think sums up the crux of the article and use that as a quote - then link to the site you took the material off to give them fair traffic to their page. The basic idea is that your there to make clicking on the link as attractive as possible without handing over all the information if your blogging other peoples material.
    Last edited by BentoSan; 07-01-2009 at 11:49 PM.

Tech Guru

kk thanks fellas that clears up my confusion. cheers

Tech Guru

whats the url .. i still have the attention of eventually creating a planet digital dj, where I aggregate all blogs related to digital djing.