Is most club equipment broken or wonky?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Is most club equipment broken or wonky?

So, I'm still fairly new to playing out. But recently as I've gotten a few more great club/rave gigs, using the installed gear... I've run into a problem that's making me somewhat rethink using the 1200's. Usually when the promoters are providing the equipment... there are no issues. Most likely because it's their own gear. But.

At the two clubs I've played at that have had 1200's installed, both times the tables have been wicked uncalibrated. Which... isn't a huge thing and can be overcome, but is a pain to just jump up and get used to? It was by and far something I had trouble with going back to back with a friend, but someone I've never mixed before with last night. I want to be able to focus on mixing, and not have to think about the pitch as it is something that just moves naturally when it's calibrated correctly.

Do I just suck it up? Deal with the cards in using 1200's? Is this something that's just to be expected everywhere? Should I just take a screwdriver and fuck up my 1200's to get used to this? (lol not really, but seriously...)

I've also recently heard horror stories, albeit not always as bad, of CDJ's in clubs. I haven't really used them yet (as I stick with 1200's w/ Serato)... but man.

Is most club equipment broken or wonky? Is this something I'm just going to need to get used to?

Part of it is my use of Serato I guess, where I still do actually manually beatmatch. I've thought of switching to Traktor for various situations to get around this to honestly use Sync or some such to overcome this. Or it's just a matter of getting ready for this.

I love spinning. But using equipment that is wonked out, bothers the crap out of me >.<
    BREAKBEATS AND OTHER MUSICAL ADVENTURES
    Facebook - Soundcloud - Mixcloud - Mixlr - Twitter