Marketing & What makes a good dj?

Default Marketing & What makes a good dj?

This thread consists of 2 main questions

1. How do i get heard?

2. What makes a good dj?

and they are very related. Im from Monterrey, Mexico. There are 2 Top Local Dj's, one of them alos happens to be labeled as Mexico's best dj. Ive been djing and producing edm for the last 4 months, but im no stranger to music, ive been playing piano for 15 years and producing for 4 years. What motivated me to write this, is that in my opinion neither of them deserves the title "Top Dj". They are good, or maybe slightly above average in their production and djing, yet they get gigs every weekend on top clubs.

Here is some of their stuff.

Diego Samar, called mexicos top dj, has opened for tiesto, steve aoki, markus shultz, axwell, will open for avicii and so on.

his own material
    http://soundcloud.com/diego_samar/di...ight-feat-phat

his remixes
    http://soundcloud.com/diego_samar/ca...-diez-mini-set

which are good, but deserves the title top dj?

Jorge Medina

http://soundcloud.com/medzofficial/b...sics-promo-set

he only remixes as far as i know.

From my perspective, samar has a REALLY long way to go production wise. My question is how do i get there? Yesterday i uploaded a remix and shared it on fb a lot and and gave it lots of rotation and it only has 70 plays, my live remix of niggas in paris has like 700 views in nearly 2 months now. How do i attract attention?

I feel like im better than both of them, many of my friends claim so, but im having trouble getting out there, getting heard.

Here's some of my stuff

2 Remixes/Mashups i made yesterday

http://soundcloud.com/davidhinojosa/...-the-cobra-sky

http://soundcloud.com/davidhinojosa/...omero-hardwell

Live Mashup i made

Some of my own stuff

http://soundcloud.com/davidhinojosa/...stered/s-zXnhE

I dont claim im the best, im far from it, but i do feel like im better than these 2 guys, any words of motivation?

Tech Mentor