Getting Ablelton Live
    Tech Convert

Default Getting Ablelton Live

I am DJ and want to get into Ableton to hopefully do some mashups and remixes. I am new to DAW but a long time DJ. Eventually i would like to do more advance production.

If i get the Suite is that overkill for me since i will be a newbie? (I am fast learner) Also is it worth the extra money to get the box version with printed manual and extra sound?

I am debating between Live 8 & Suite 8 as well the the box version.

https://www.ableton.com/en/shop/?gcl...FQ6CQgodlk4AZw

Thanks in advance.

-TM

We live in interesting times. Ableton Live 9 is announced and the upgrade pricing is IMHO a big mess just now. As for suite, the only good thing I think is MaxForLive that is now part of the Suite 9 offering when it's out. Means it's a dead end if you purchase it separately for Live 8. Get Live 8 standard and I think you get Live 9 for free when it's out. No need to pay extra for the suite. The box has just more sample content that is not that interesting.
    ---
    Contact me if you have a cool musical idea. @kentsandvik

It's a great deal to get Suite today, 25% off, with the free upgrade to 9.

Tech Mentor

Quote Originally Posted by TroyMichael View Post
    I am DJ and want to get into Ableton to hopefully do some mashups and remixes. I am new to DAW but a long time DJ. Eventually i would like to do more advance production.

If i get the Suite is that overkill for me since i will be a newbie? (I am fast learner) Also is it worth the extra money to get the box version with printed manual and extra sound?

I am debating between Live 8 & Suite 8 as well the the box version.

https://www.ableton.com/en/shop/?gcl...FQ6CQgodlk4AZw

Thanks in advance.

-TM

If you're main objective is doing mashups and remixes and thus you probably will mostly be working with audio you don't neccessarily need the Suite. Live 8 plus maybe some free vsts should be good for you.