How to actually start being a DJ ?
    Tech Wizard

Default How to actually start being a DJ ?

So I'm new to the game. I'm a musician looking to jump in. I have the equipment, I have the software, but where do I actually start. So I guess you might as well tell me how you all started. Right now I'm just kind of mixing and mashing music I already had in my Itunes library but I want to know how to build an effective collection of music that I will use and what is a good way to go about organizing it? Since I'm a beginner what are key things I should be practicing and what goals should I set for myself? I'm looking actually improve with time rather than just be stuck at a rudimentary skill level.

tl;dr new to djing
    How do I build up a music collection?
    Where do I start as far as mixes?
    What do I practice?

Tech Guru

How do I build up a music collection?

You do it however you like.. Download music, collect records, rip your old cd's... Really though try to dig deep by listening to mixes getting track ID's finding new artists exploring the music on the labels that they are on, blogs, friends and other DJ's. The harder you dig the more unique your sets will be plus finding and playing new tracks is a big part of the fun and challenge of being a DJ

Listen to mixes whenever you have a chance and listen to how the mix from track and which tracks they choose to make the mix. Go to clubs and watch the DJ and the crowd and watch how the DJ plays to the crowd (or how he doesn't). If you can't get to a club watch youtube

What do I practice?
    Pretty much the same as the above point - watch and learn. if you have a friend that DJ's even better.