controllers for Ableton - effects
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default controllers for Ableton - effects

hey folks,

im new to ableton and have a laptop and apc40. however want to control more dials in realtime. is there another midi controller that focuses on the effects pots?

please help!

cheers

den
    @denjonesdotcom
    www.denjones.com

Tech Wizard

Hey man. There are so many controllers that can do this. It really just depends on how much you want to spend. I'm assuming you are going to be making your own mapping for the controller for tweaking effect parameters so the possibilites are abundant. A cheap way to go is the KORG NANOKONTROL ($30-40 on eBay) if you want a sea of knobs with LED postion feedback then the BCR2000 would do very well even if it is a little outdated. If you want to go for a more boutique type controller then I would look into Livid Instruments' Code ( i think it is) it has a grid of push button endless encoders that you could do some pretty sweet stuff with.

Good luck and have fun!
    13" Macbook_Kontrol S2_MF Classic_Ableton Live8_Akai Synthstation 25_Akai APC40

yes, that would indeed be the Code you're thinking off. They released the mk 2 version not long ago, so there are some good deals to be had on the original version if you look enough.
    code_v2_front.jpg
    Facebook : Soundcloud : Beatport DJ : Twitter DJ
    My Show: Sunday Nights 00:00 - 02:00 GMT (7pm -9pm EST) on Fokus FM Radio
    My Setup

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D

+1 for the BCR2000, sure its old, but cheap as chips these days (i sold my old one for just $65) and configuration is such a piece of piss.

The code is a really nice piece of gear though if its in your budget.

The Akai LPD8 is another option, maybe not as many knobs as the code, but cheap as hell and you get velocity sensitive pads as well.
    My Setup

From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D