Beatgrids.. The right way!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Beatgrids.. The right way!

Hi All,

First let me say wow! This seems a very nice and vibrant site/community.. I'm glad I've found it! Let me tell you guys a little bit more about myself before I get started.. My artist name is Double and I'm a Tokyo-based urban electro beatmaker/producer. I've been making beats for over 15 years and I've been recording and mixing artists for close to ten years now. I absolutely know nothing(or next to nothing) about Digital DJing.. I always thought things like "that's cool" or "must be complicated".. Untill a few days ago.. I went to one of my artists home studio and he showed me the S2+F1. That was it! I'm hooked! I went to the shop and bought the exact same setting! Now you must be thinking I'm crazy but hell.. You only live once! And It's really cool to be able to "perform my beats" with the remix decks(sort of like ableton but inside a DJ software). Now here is my question(s).. I don't quite get the beatgrids/sync as it works differently from logic flextime or pro tools elastic audio. How do move the markers individually? Or i can just nudge the whole thing? Traktor place the downbeat marker automatically after analyzing a song, correct? How come whenever I a have a intro that is little longer than usual, the dowbeat it never starts when the first kick drum starts? Is this normal? How do I move the marker? Is there any step by step, easy to understand proven method or video tutorial on how beat sync works "the right way" somewhere online? Please post the link if you have one ;-)

Thanks in advance!!!